Home  »  Newsroom  »  Drake News  »  Faculty and Staff Accomplishments

Faculty & Staff Accomplishments

Visiting professor of politics gives Masaryk Lecture in London

Kieran Williams, visiting assistant professor of politics at Drake University, was invited to give the annual Masaryk Lecture in London, U.K. on May 23, 2013. The lecture was created in honor of the first president of Czechoslovakia, Tomas Masaryk, and is typically delivered by historians. Williams was the first political scientist invited to give the […]
June 4, 2013

School of Education associate dean selected for National Teacher Education Advisory Committee

The Institute for Study Abroad, Butler University (IFSA-Butler) has selected Eunice Merideth, Levitt Distinguished Professor and associate dean in the Drake University School of Education, to be a member of the National Teacher Education Advisory Committee. The committee seeks to provide teacher education students more opportunities to study abroad and interact with students in international […]
June 4, 2013

School of Education professor receives national Kuhmerker Dissertation Award

Matthew Hayden, assistant professor of teaching and learning at Drake University, is the recipient of the Association for Moral Education’s (AME) Kuhmerker Dissertation Award. This annual award recognizes outstanding doctoral dissertations that inform, develop, or relate to the understanding of moral development, moral functioning or moral education. The AME invites submissions from all fields, including […]
May 14, 2013

Drake professor receives $125,000 grant for STEM-related project

Maryann Huey, assistant professor of mathematics at Drake University, has been awarded a $125,000 grant from the Iowa Department of Education for her project Statistics and Probability for Teaching Secondary Students. This project, which is a collaborative effort with Wendy Weber a mathematics professor at Central College, will provide professional development activities to rural, secondary […]
May 9, 2013

Drake Law professor publishes book on HIV/AIDS governance

Peter K. Yu, professor of law and Kern Family Chair in Intellectual Property Law at Drake Law School, recently published The Global Governance of HIV/AIDS: Intellectual Property and Access to Essential Medicines, with Edward Elgar Publishing. The book brought together leading scholars from multiple disciplines, including intellectual property, human rights, public health, and development studies. […]
May 6, 2013

Raylene Rospond selected for national leadership development program

Raylene Rospond, who will transition from vice provost for operations to deputy provost on June 1, has been selected by the Council of Independent Colleges (CIC) and the American Academic Leadership Institute (AALI) to participate in their yearlong Senior Leadership Academy. Rospond is one of 26 mid-level administrators in higher education nationwide to be selected. […]
May 1, 2013

Drake Professor Keith Summerville receives research grants

Keith Summerville, associate dean in the College of Arts and Sciences and professor of environmental science, recently received two research grants—one from Polk County Conservation, and the other from Purdue University and the Hardwood Ecosystems Experience (HEE) Project. Summerville was awarded a grant from Polk County Conservation in the amount of $9,868 to study the […]
April 19, 2013

Anne Murr honored as a 2013 Hero of the Heartland

Anne Murr, coordinator of the Adult Literacy Center at Drake University, has been recognized as a 2013 Hero of the Heartland by the American Red Cross of Greater Iowa. Murr was honored this morning at a breakfast ceremony at the Hy-Vee Conference Center in West Des Moines, Iowa. The Hero of the Heartland program honors […]
April 12, 2013

Provost Jones receives Texas Woman's University Chancellor's Alumni Excellence Award

Drake University Provost Deneese Jones is the spring 2013 recipient of the Texas Woman’s University (TWU) Chancellor’s Alumni Excellence Award. She is being honored for her distinguished career in higher education. Jones says her educational experiences at TWU were key to her growth and development and she is deeply honored to receive this honor. Jones […]
March 25, 2013

Professor of Law Sally Frank awarded Bishop Dingman Peace Award

On March 9, Sally Frank, professor of law at Drake University for more than 20 years, was awarded the Catholic Peace Ministry’s Bishop Maurice J. Dingman Peace Award. The Dingman Peace Award is given each year in memory and in honor of Maurice Dingman, the late Bishop of the Catholic Diocese of Des Moines revered […]
March 18, 2013

Professor of Pharmacy Practice elected Chair of the Continuing Pharmacy Education Commission

Timothy Welty, department chair of clinical sciences and professor of pharmacy practice in the College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences (CPHS), has been elected Chair of the Continuing Pharmacy Education (CPE) Commission, a subcommittee of the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE). The CPE Commission was established in 2007 to guide ACPE’s Continuing Pharmacy Education […]
March 14, 2013

Kirk Martin honored with International Education Leadership award

Kirk Martin, director of Drake’s Chinese Cultural Exchange program, will be honored with a 25 Years Contribution Award from the Chinese Association of Iowa on Feb. 25. This series of awards recognizes the contributions of individuals or organizations that make a significant contribution to advance or support global learning opportunities. Martin was nominated and selected […]
February 27, 2013

Drake announces fourth Troyer Research Fellow

Drake University recently selected Thomas Rosburg, professor of biology, as the Ronald Troyer Research Fellow for 2013-14. The fellowship was created in 2010 to recognize Ronald Troyer, who served as the University's chief academic officer for nine years. Troyer is currently senior counselor for international initiatives at Drake. "This Fellowship honors Dr. Troyer's lifetime of […]
February 7, 2013

Sally Beisser named senior fellow of new faculty fellowship program

Sally Beisser, professor of education at Drake, has been selected to lead Iowa Campus Compact's new Engaged Scholars Faculty Fellowship program.
December 11, 2012

Biology professor invited as regular contributor for British Journal of Sports Medicine series

David Senchina, associate professor of biology, is now a regular contributor to the British Journal of Sports Medicine.
December 11, 2012