Home  »  Newsroom  »  Drake News  »  Faculty and Staff Accomplishments

Faculty & Staff Accomplishments

Drake law professor to speak at American Bar Association's annual meeting

Peter Yu, the Kern Family chair in intellectual property law, will discuss licensing strategies for North American companies conducting business with China.
July 14, 2011

Matthew Doré earns accolades from Iowa State Bar

Matthew Doré serves as the Richard M. and Anita Calkins distinguished professor of law at Drake University.
July 12, 2011

Lori Schirmer selected to Board of Pharmacy Specialties task force

The task force will conduct a role delineation study in critical care to determine whether the area is based upon specialized knowledge of the pharmaceutical sciences, as well as functions routinely performed by practitioners in these proposed specialties.
July 8, 2011

Dolph Pulliam named Iowa Juneteenth Observance "Citizen of the Year"

Dolph Pulliam, director of community outreach and development, was recognized as "Citizen of the Year" at the Iowa Juneteenth Observance.
June 17, 2011

Dean Vestal named recipient of prestigious Burton Award for legal writing

Vestal, along with co-author William Callison, is one of only 30 nationwide recipients honored with the prestigious Burton Award for Legal Writing this year.
June 2, 2011

Professor emeritus and former dean updates book on 'Nearby History'

Myron "Mike" Marty and co-author David Kyvig have revised their comprehensive handbook for investigating the history of communities, families, local institutions and cultural artifacts.
June 1, 2011

Drake music prof to conduct concert benefiting vicitms of Japan's tsunmani

Akira Mori will direct members of the Minnesota Orchestra in a performance that will benefit the American Red Cross, Red Cross Japan and CRASHJapan.
May 22, 2011

Drake announces second Troyer Research Fellow

Drake University recently selected Klaus Bartschat, the Ellis and Nelle Levitt professor of physics in the Department of Physics and Astronomy, as the Ronald Troyer Research Fellow for 2011-12.
April 27, 2011

Summerville, Vitha earn Windsor professorships

A committee of their peers chose each for the honor based on their dedication to scientific research, enthusiasm in the classroom, mentorship and support of undergraduate student research.
April 18, 2011

Carrie Foust Koenigsfeld selected as a 2011 Fellow of the American Pharmacists Association Academy of Pharmacy Practice and Management

Candidates for APhA Fellow must have at least 10 years of experience and achievements in professional pharmacy practice and outstanding service in the profession through activities in APhA and other organizations.
April 15, 2011

Clarence Padilla named music director, conductor of Des Moines Metro Concert Band

The professor of clarinet and chair of Drake's Music Department will direct Iowa's only professional concert band for three performances at Music Under The Stars.
April 11, 2011

Law professor Peter Yu to deliver keynote address at Confucius Institute Symposium

Yu's speech explores the rise of China and its ramifications for the future development of the international intellectual property system.
April 4, 2011

Christina Sibouih, grants specialist, featured in The Des Moines Register

Grants Specialist Christina Sibouih was recently featured in a Des Moines Register "Get to Know" article highlighting her work with Drake faculty and staff in finding, developing and submitting grant projects for external funding as part of the Sponsored Programs Administration staff.
March 23, 2011

Linda Ryan honored with Distinguished Service Award from the National Association of Presidential Assistants in Higher Education.

During the time she has been involved with NAPAHE, Ryan has displayed extraordinary service to the organization as a member and board member. Her peers recognized her as a respected and deeply committed colleague who has held many leadership roles within the organization, including secretary, chair-elect and chair.
March 17, 2011

Paul Secord named to Business Record 'Forty under 40'

Drake University Director of Development Paul Secord is among the Des Moines young professionals tapped for the annual Business Record honor.
March 9, 2011