Drake SJMC students, alumni win PRSA PRIME Awards
Drake School of Journalism and Mass Communication students and alumni were recognized with top honors at last week’s Public Relations Society of America Central Iowa annual conference. The PRIME Award winners were:
  • Public Relations senior Greta Haas was named the 2020 Iowa Outstanding PR Student of the Year.
  • The Strategic Political Communication class of 2020 won the Community Champion award for its capstone campaign for the Alzheimer’s Association of Iowa.
  • SJMC National Advisory Council member Kevin Waetke, JO’86, APR, Fellow PRSA, was named 2020 Outstanding Iowa PR Professional. Waetke is associate vice president, corporate marketing, at Sammons Financial.
  • Laura Plumb, JO’15, digital strategist at Lessing-Flynn, was recognized as the state’s Outstanding Chapter Member.
In addition, Joseph Jones, executive director of the Harkin Institute, was named the 2020 Outstanding Iowa Advocate.