During the annual Health Professions Day (formerly Pharmacy and Health Sciences Day), held on February 25, 2021, the College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences presented various awards to preceptors and fieldwork educators who demonstrate outstanding teaching and mentorship to students at their practice sites. Nominations for the awards are sought from students within the college. 

Athletic training preceptors: 

Kristen Strawhacker-Bonzer was named the AT Level I Preceptor of the Year. Strawhacker-Bonzer is a physical therapist and athletic trainer at Breathe Physical Therapy & Wellness in Des Moines, Iowa. 

Angie Dahl was named the AT Level II Preceptor of the Year. Dahl is an athletic trainer with Drake University Athletics. 

Occupational therapy preceptors: 

Matthew Ramsey was named the Level I Fieldwork Educator of the Year. Dr. Ramsey is an occupational therapist at MercyOne Rehabilitation Hospital in Clive, Iowa. 

Michele Wille Dotson was named the Level II Fieldwork Educator of the Year. Dr. Dotson is an occupational therapist at UnityPoint Health in Des Moines, Iowa. 

Ashley Adams was named the Doctoral Capstone Mentor of the Year. Dr. Adams is an occupational therapist at Optimae LifeServices in Des Moines, Iowa. 

Pharmacy Preceptors: 

Tracey Campbell was named the IPPE Preceptor of the Year. Dr. Campbell is a pharmacist at Pella Regional Health Center. 

Jill McCoy was named the APPE Preceptor of the Year. Dr. McCoy is a pharmacist at Target CVS in Des Moines, Iowa. 

Jared Butler was named the CPHS Faculty Preceptor of the Year. Dr. Butler is a pharmacist at the VA Central Iowa Health Care System and assistant professor in the Clinical Sciences Department of CPHS.