Mark Vitha, CPHS Non-Teacher of the Year; Megan Brady, Mentor of the Year; Jill Batten, Teacher of the Year;
Jared Butler, Faculty Preceptor of the Year
Dean Chesnut and Dr. Munusamy

During the annual Health Professions Day (formerly Pharmacy and Health Sciences Day), held on February 25, 2021, the College of Pharmacy and Health Science presented various awards to faculty members who demonstrate outstanding teaching, mentorship, scholarship, and professional involvement within their fields. Nominations for the awards are sought from students and colleagues alike from within the college. 

Shankar Munusamy, Associate Professor of Pharmacology, was named the Hartig Distinguished Professor. This award recognizes a faculty member who has distinguished him or herself in teaching, scholarship, service, or practice. 

Dean Chesnut and Dr. Miesner

Andrew Miesner, Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice, was honored with the C. Boyd Granberg Professional Leadership Award. This award is given to a faculty member who is committed to professional organizational leadership – both for themselves and among students. 

Erik Maki, Associate Professor and Department Chair of Clinical Sciences, was honored with the Richard Morrow Transformational Leadership Award. This award recognizes a faculty member whose transformational work has gone above and beyond. Transformational leaders focus on team-building, motivation and collaboration with colleagues to accomplish change for the better. They identify a needed change, create a vision to guide the change through inspiration, and execute the change through collaboration. 

Dean Chesnut and Dr. Maki

The College’s Student Governance Association announced the following teaching and mentoring awards: 

Jill BattenDirector of Student Affairs, CPHS Teacher of the Year 

Mark VithaProfessor of Chemistry, Non-CPHS Teacher of the Year 

Jared Butler, Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice, CPHS Preceptor of the Year 

Megan Brady, Assistant Professor of Athletic Training, CPHS Mentor of the Year