SJMC Tuesday Memo | April 14, 2020

Congratulations to our scholarship and award winners!

We can’t celebrate on campus this spring, but we’d like to offer virtual applause all this week to the winners of the annual SJMC awards and scholarships. Each day, we will publish the names of the students who have been recognized for their academic achievements, hard work, skills and enthusiasm for the craft of communication.  Today we recognize:

Harrison Harding Memorial Scholarship (2019-20) – Rachel James
Given to the Times-Delphic editor-in-chief

Cyril and Lucille Clifton Scholarship – Grace Altenhofen
Named in honor of Cyril “Cy” Clifton, a former political reporter for The Des Moines Register, this award recognizes students for academic achievement

Sheila Wolfe Award for Excellence in News Journalism – Marie Nalan, Grace Altenhofen
This scholarship is given to an outstanding incoming first-year News major

Robert Woodward Scholars — Lorien MacEnulty, Addison Weakley, Madeleine Leigh, Zoe Brinker
Awarded to an outstanding entering first-year journalism student who exhibits the same passion for news that the much beloved Professor Woodward tried to instill in his students

Larry Neibergall Memorial Award – Anthony Arroyo
In memory of a longtime photographer for The Des Moines Register, this year’s winner of the Neibergall Award exhibits the same passion for photojournalism and visual communication as Larry did

Joe Patrick Green Eyeshade Award – Emily Larson
Given in honor of former SJMC assistant dean and editing professor Joe R. Patrick, it recognizes outstanding copy editors — nitpickers in the Patrick tradition

Katherine Futch Scholars – Monica Snider, Lucius Pham, Amanda O’Brien, Madeline Haun
Futch Scholars are recognized as entering SJMC students who exhibit professionalism, intelligence and integrity

Write for the T-D — and get paid!

The Drake Times-Delphic  is still running online! Stories and campus updates can be found at The newspaper also needs writers! Writers will be paid $14.50 for each story contributed. If you are interested, please reach out to T-D editor Rachel James at

Have a news item for the Memo?

The SJMC Monday Memo is a newsletter to keep members of the wider SJMC community updated on School news, achievements, events and opportunities. If you have an item for the Memo, please send it to Dean Kathleen Richardson ( or SJMC webmaster and multimedia professor Chris Snider ( SJMC alums and other professionals can also subscribe to the Monday Memo via email here:

The School of Journalism and Mass Communication strives to create a community of scholars that represents the complexity of the human experience in regards to race, ethnicity, gender, sexual orientation, economic status, political views, gender identification, religion, age and physical abilities. We are committed to creating a welcoming and supportive environment for all our faculty, staff, students and visitors, and celebrating our differences through the lens of the First Amendment value of freedom of expression.