Drake University Law School will advance to the 70th Annual National Moot Court Competition in New York City this February after an outstanding performance in the regional competition. Drake Law School’s two national moot court teams competed at regionals in November against teams from the Mitchell Hamline School of Law, University of Iowa College of Law, University of Minnesota Law School, University of North Dakota School of Law, University of South Dakota School of Law, and University of St. Thomas School of Law.   

The team of Chelsey Knapp (3L), Josh Hughes (2L), and Julie Solis-Alvarado (2L) showed their strength in the quarter-finals. They overcame a 6-point differential, beating a team who had won the Best Respondent’s Brief. The semi-finals put them head-to-head with their own peers. The Drake Law teams faced off, a margin of less than one point determining the outcome. The team of Lauren Calef (3L), Rachel Soderstrum (3L), and Logan Brundage (2L) pulled ahead. They continued undefeated to advance to nationals, beating a team from the University of Minnesota Law School in the final round.

Calef, Soderstrum, and Brundage will compete at the National Finals, hosted at the New York City Bar in February. At the regional competition, they were also awarded the Best Petitioner’s Brief and Best Brief Overall.

Three Drake Law students were recognized as top 10 best oralists at regionals. With a near perfect score, Josh Hughes was named the 2nd Best Oralist, Lauren Calef was the 7th Best Oralist, and Rachel Soderstrom was the 9th Best Oralist. 

Laurie Doré, Ellis and Nelle Levitt Distinguished Professor of Law, coaches the national moot court teams at Drake Law School.  

The National Moot Court Competition is an annual inter-law school event designed to promote the art of appellate advocacy. It is sponsored by the New York City Bar Association’s National Moot Court Competition Committee and the American College of Trial Lawyers. It is one of the longest running and honored competition of its kind. Every year, over 120 law schools compete in regional rounds throughout the United States, with winners advancing to final rounds at the New York City Bar Association.

Logan Brundage, Rachel Soderstrum, and Lauren Calef with Coach Laurie Doré.