Home School of Journalism and Mass Communication Drake students, alums honored at ADDY Awards

Drake students, alums honored at ADDY Awards

The American Advertising Federation of Des Moines (AAF of Des Moines) held its annual ADDY® Awards show on Saturday at the historic Teachout Building in Des Moines’ East Village. The event was attended by more than 200 individuals from the local advertising community.

Twenty-nine companies entered their best creative advertising into the competition. Judges from around the country were brought into Des Moines to judge nearly 300 creative pieces in early January. Entries were judged on creativity, originality and creative strategy. In total, 33 Gold ADDY Awards and 57 Silver ADDY Awards were presented at the show. Those that won Gold ADDYs will have their entries automatically forwarded to the district level competition.

Drake Students won the following local ADDYS:

  • Gold ADDY: Drake Ad Club, “Creativity That’s Criminal” Campaign
  • Silver ADDY: Stephanie Anderson and Tyler Larson, “SJMC: There’s an App For That” Magazine Ad

In addition, Tyler Larson was awarded the Wesley Day Scholarship, recognizing an outstanding sophomore or junior committed to pursuing a career in Iowa.

Ad grad Joel Brewer ’07 (now at Integer) won club Rookie of the Year and Jason Boucher ’01 (now at ZLR Ignition) was co-winner of Club Member of the Year.

About the ADDY Awards

The ADDY Awards Competition is a three-tiered national competition conducted annually by the American Advertising Federation. Creative work is subjected to rigorous judging standards in local, district and national competitions. District ADDY Awards are presented in April and national ADDY Awards are presented in June. The ADDY Awards Competition is the advertising industry’s largest and most representative competition for creative excellence.