Home  »  Newsroom  »  Drake News  »  Faculty and Staff Accomplishments

Faculty & Staff Accomplishments

Renee Cramer elected president of the Consortium of Undergraduate Law and Justice Programs

Renee Cramer has been elected president of the Consortium of Undergraduate Law and Justice Programs. The Consortium promotes undergraduate legal studies education in a wide variety of institutions in the United States and Canada.
September 22, 2014

Rod Henshaw named president of the Affinity Academic Libraries Group

Rod Henshaw, dean of Cowles Library at Drake University, is now serving as president for the Affinity Academic Libraries Group—a group of 33 private academic libraries representing master’s level institutions from across the United States.
September 18, 2014

Mahmoud Hamad selected as Al-Jazeera contributor

Mahmoud Hamad, associate professor of politics at Drake University, spent the month of July commenting on news in the Middle East and U.S.-Arab relations for both Al-Jazeera and Al-Jazzera English.
September 12, 2014

Renae Chesnut receives national 2014 Lambda Kappa Sigma Merck & Co. Vanguard Leadership Award

Renae Chesnut, professor of pharmacy practice and associate dean for academic and student affairs at Drake University’s College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, was awarded Lambda Kappa Sigma’s (LKS) Merck & Co. Vanguard Leadership Award.
July 31, 2014

Jennifer Perrine lands Prairie Schooner Book Prize in Poetry

Jennifer Perrine, associate professor of English at Drake University, was awarded the 2014 Prairie Schooner Book Prize in Poetry for her manuscript, No Confession, No Mass.
July 29, 2014

Drake Law professor provides analysis of new copyright bill in Hong Kong Legislative Council

On July 26, Peter K. Yu, Kern Family Chair in Intellectual Property Law and the director of the Intellectual Property Law Center at Drake University Law School, provided a detailed analysis of the Copyright (Amendment) Bill 2014 in the Hong Kong Legislative Council.
July 28, 2014

Cherié Moen awarded scholarship to attend educational forum in Wisconsin

The Foundation of the International Association of Administrative Professionals (IAAP) recently awarded a scholarship to Cherié Moen, administrative assistant to Drake University Provost Deneese Jones, to attend the Education Forum and Annual Meeting (EFAM) 2014 in Milwaukee.
July 23, 2014

Dorothy Pisarski to attend international conference on digital diplomacy

Dorothy Pisarski, associate professor of journalism, will travel to San Jose, California later this month to represent the West Des Moines Sister Cities Commission at the Sister Cities International Conference this July.
July 16, 2014

Mary McCarthy appointed to the 2014 Japan Studies Fellowship

Mary McCarthy, associate professor of politics at Drake University, is one of three international scholars awarded the 2014 Japan Studies Fellowship at the East-West Center in Washington, D.C.
June 2, 2014

Owens and Kash named 2014 Levitt Teacher and Mentor of the Year

Drake University faculty members Karla Kash and Craig Owens received Drake’s highest honors for teachers and mentors—the prestigious Madelyn M. Levitt Awards—at the University's undergraduate commencement ceremony on Sunday, May 18.
May 30, 2014

Maryann Huey receives three-year grant to continue with STEM-related project

Maryann Huey, assistant professor of mathematics at Drake University, has been awarded a $600,000 three-year grant from the Iowa Department of Education for her project, “Statistics and Probability, Content and Pedagogy, for Secondary Teachers.”
May 28, 2014

Beckmann-Collier to receive Robert McCowen Award from the ICDA

Aimee Beckmann-Collier, professor of conducting and director of choral studies at Drake University, will receive the prestigious Robert McCowen Award from the Iowa Choral Directors Association (ICDA) at its July Summer Symposium.
May 27, 2014

Law professor Shontavia Johnson wins International Trademark Association competition

Shontavia Johnson, associate professor of law at the Drake University Law School, recently won the Ladas Memorial Award from the International Trademark Association (INTA) for her paper, Trademark Territoriality in Cyberspace: An Internet Framework.
May 20, 2014

Timothy Urness creates iPad app for learning languages

Timothy Urness, associate professor of computer science, has produced an iPad application to help facilitate learning a foreign language.
May 19, 2014

Drake celebrates tenure for faculty members and promotions

The Office of the Provost at Drake University announces the faculty members who were approved by the board of trustees for tenure and/or promotion.
May 19, 2014