Home  »  Newsroom  »  Drake News  »  Article

Drake celebrates faculty and staff at annual recognition event

June 3, 2014

Nearly 100 faculty and staff members were recognized for their dedication and commitment to Drake at the Drake University Spring Faculty and Staff Recognition Event on May 6.

The celebration honored Drake employees who have reached 20, 25, 30, 35 or 40 years of service, as well as upcoming and recent retirees. More than 200 faculty and staff members attended the event to celebrate their colleagues.

New to the ceremony this year was the announcement of the Madelyn M. Levitt Community Service Award and the Madelyn M. Levitt Employee Excellence Award, which are historically announced in the fall semester.

The Madelyn M. Levitt Employee Excellence Award is presented to a current staff member who demonstrates exceptional commitment to excellence in the performance of his or her duties. This includes outstanding dedication to providing courteous, prompt, and quality service; a commitment to University programs, initiatives, and services; and professional values and behavior that demonstrate exceptional service to others and a commitment to Drake. This year’s award was presented to Jan Wise, director of student leadership and service programs.

The Madelyn M. Levitt Distinguished Community Service Award is presented to a current faculty or staff member who demonstrates personal commitment to volunteerism and community service; an outstanding record of leadership in community projects, services, and activities contributing to the quality of life in our region, state, and/or the nation; and the professional and personal values and behavior that typify the ideals of giving back to others and making a difference in the lives of others. This year’s award was presented to Maria Valdovinos, associate professor of psychology.

Also new this year, the ceremony honored individuals who earned an Excellence in Learning and Development (ELD) certificate. The ELD program provides varied and frequent learning opportunities to enhance personal and professional growth and effectiveness. Participants earn an ELD certificate and receive a gift by completing eight hours of programming during the academic year.

The complete list of honorees for 2013–2014:

Madelyn M. Levitt Employee Excellence Award: Jan Wise
Madelyn M. Levitt Distinguished Community Service Award: Maria Valdovinos

20-Year Anniversaries: Renae Chesnut, William Dougherty, William Hennan, Jennifer McCrickerd, Josettee Mills, John Rovers, Sam Walker

25-Year Anniversaries: Diane Caldbeck, Ramesh Dhussa, Patsy Mattas, Eunice Merideth, Bradley Meyer, Brian Sanders, David Skidmore, Deborah Symonds, Thomas Westbrook, William Wolver

30-Year Anniversaries: Larry Cox, Todd Evans, Nancy Geiger, Raymond Hubbard, Tom McCarthy, David McCord, Anita Mozga, Diana Reed, David Robbins, Mark Stumme, Bradley Toussaint

35-Year Anniversaries: Edward Lint, Leslie Mamoorian, Keith Miller

40-Year Anniversaries: Philip Houle, William Klipec, Thomas Pokos, Lou Ann Simpson, Lawrence Staunton

Retirees: Terry Barnes, Brent Emley, Kathy Fejes, Marie Fisher, Trudi Holst, Janet Howard, Raymond Hubbard, Russell Lovell, John Lytle, James Monroe, Linda Murphy, Ronald Schaffer, Lawrence Staunton, Jan Wise

ELD certificate recipients:
Violeta Aleman, Legal Clinic
Sandra Alvarez-Herrera, Head Start
Linda Anderzhon, Alumni and Development
Bridget Arrasmith, School of Education
Tricia Atterberg, College of Arts and Sciences
Lisa Boes, College of Business and Public Administration
Sonja Brightwell, Residence Life
Stephanie Cardwell, College of Business and Public Administration
Alice Cronin, Residence Life
Leslee Cran, Head Start
Amy Daughenbaugh, Student Financial Planning
Mindy Davis, Residence Life
Johanna Determann, Athletics
Christine Ditter, Student Financial Planning
Brandy Eganhouse, Student Financial Planning
Kristi Fuller, Student Financial Planning
Sheila Goodwin, Student Financial Planning
Katherine Grasso, Provost's Office
Dianna Gray, College of Business and Public Administration
William Hatchet, Academic Excellence and Student Affairs
Carla Herling, College of Arts and Sciences
Shelley Hurst, Student Records
Jennifer Juehring-Hill, Provost's Office
Michelle Laughlin, Academic Excellence and Student Affairs
Diana Lei-Butters, Human Resources
Krista Magill, Law School
Stephanie Majeran, Provost's Office
Christine Marchand, Institutional Research
Carla McCrea, School of Journalism and Mass Communication
Lisa Murphy, Athletics
Sharyn O'Connor-Beener, College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences
Jana Peterson, Athletics
Lori Richman, Law School
Mary Sanders, Extension Education
Renee Sedlacek, Community Engagement and Service Learning
Rachelle Setsodi, Office of Admission
Jolaine Sweiger, Student Financial Planning
Shari Tenney, School of Journalism and Mass Communications
Sofia Turnbull, College of Arts and Sciences
Debra Wiley, Human Resources
Kodee Wright, Recreational Services
James Wu, OIT

For more information, contact Laura Schwarz at or 515-271-3133.