Michaela Schick, a future first-generation pharmacist, posing for a portrait at the 2021 Drake PharmD White Coat Ceremony while wearing a new white coat and holding a padfolio with the Oath of a Pharmacist printed inside.

Michaela Schick, a third-year student pharmacist, was awarded the inaugural Roger W. Lee Endowed Pharmacy Scholarship for the 2023-2024 academic year. This scholarship recognizes first-generation pharmacists who are pursuing their PharmD within Drake University’s College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences (CPHS).

Originally from Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, Schick was drawn to the pharmacy profession because of a desire to help others and the opportunity to positively impact people’s health and well-being. Within the College, Schick is a member of the Lambda Kappa Sigma professional pharmacy fraternity and serves as the organization’s Fundraising Chair. 

“Receiving this scholarship as a first-generation PharmD student means the world to me,” said Schick. “It represents the culmination of my hard work, dedication, and perseverance in pursuing my dream of becoming a pharmacist. This opportunity not only validates my hard work but also fuels my commitment to making a meaningful impact in healthcare, uplifting my community, and inspiring future generations.” 

The Roger W. Lee Endowed Pharmacy Scholarship is funded with a generous gift from alum Todd A. Lee, PH’97, and his spouse Amy. The Scholarship honors Lee’s father, Roger W. Lee, to benefit first-generation pharmacists. In addition to the scholarship, Lee gives back to the CPHS by serving on the Lon Larson Engaged Practitioner Award Selection Committee. He was a recipient of the College’s Alumni Achievement Award in 2023. Dr. Lee is a professor and the chair of the Department of Pharmacy Systems, Outcomes and Policy at the University of Illinois at Chicago College of Pharmacy.