Drake SJMC honors top scholars, award and scholarship winners

The Drake School of Journalism and Mass Communication has announced the School’s top scholars and the recipients of awards and scholarships for 2020. The SJMC celebrates these students’ achievements and their contributions to the campus community. We congratulate all of them and our 2020 graduates!

SJMC’s top scholar Class of 2020 – Kayla Garrigan, Lorien MacEnulty (tie)
The graduating senior with the highest overall grade point average

Kappa Tau Alpha National Journalism Honor Society Kayla Frances Garrigan, Benjamin A. Heinze, Tess Julien

Goldwater Scholar and Rhodes Scholar finalist – Lorien MacEnulty

Erik Isgrig Advertising Scholarship – Allyn Benkowich
Established in honor of a distinguished member of the Drake advertising faculty by his former students, the award recognizes an outstanding advertising student

Media Planning Maven Award – Allyn Benkowich

Fausch Awards – Nick Drahozal, Alexandra Besch, Jamie Lamb, Libby Nichols|
Honor PR students for outstanding contributions to research for the senior capstones
Funded by David Fausch, a 1957 graduate who worked as a vice president at Gillette Co. overseeing corporate public relations

Public Relations Student of the Year – Ben Heinze

Strategic Political Communication Student of the Year – Lauren Selfridge

Master of Arts in Communication Student of the Year – Keely Coppess

Public Relations Alumna of the Year – Taylor Larson

 Strategic Political Communication Alumna of the Year — Jordan Goode

Frank Miller Scholarship – Brianna Bonilla
Named after a Pulitzer Prize-winning editorial cartoonist for the Des Moines Register and funded by his friends and colleagues

Tom Norquist Memorial Award – Rachel Mayoros
Named in honor of 1979 graduate Tom Norquist, recognizes an excellent journalism student

94.1 “Top Dog” Award – Josh Randolph
Name will be engraved on a plaque displayed outside the SJMC dean’s office

Jim Duncan Memorial Award – Rachel Hartley
Recognizes electronic media students for outstanding promise in production and performance and is named after the Drake broadcast professor who was known worldwide as the “Voice of the Relays”

Ted Sell Memorial Award – Elizabeth Hennessey
Given to an outstanding junior or senior interested in a career in print or broadcasting

John Lytle Endowed Scholarship for News Journalism – Carson Reichardt
Recipient is a news major who exemplifies the values and standards that broadcast news professor John Lytle sought to impart to his students: excellent reporting and writing, a devotion to public service and the profession, a strong work ethic, and the highest of ethical standards. Endowed by gifts from Lytle’s alums

Harrison Harding Memorial Scholarship (2019-20) – Rachel James
Given to the Times-Delphic editor-in-chief

Cyril and Lucille Clifton Scholarship – Grace Altenhofen
Named in honor of Cyril “Cy” Clifton, a former political reporter for The Des Moines Register, this award recognizes students for academic achievement

Sheila Wolfe Award for Excellence in News Journalism – Marie Nalan, Grace Altenhofen
This scholarship is given to an outstanding incoming first-year News major

Robert Woodward Scholars — Lorien MacEnulty, Addison Weakley, Madeleine Leigh, Zoe Brinker
Awarded to an outstanding entering first-year journalism student who exhibits the same passion for news that former news professor Woodward tried to instill in his students

Larry Neibergall Memorial Award – Anthony Arroyo
In memory of a longtime photographer for The Des Moines Register, this year’s winner of the Neibergall Award exhibits the same passion for photojournalism and visual communication as Larry did

Joe Patrick Green Eyeshade Award – Emily Larson
Given in honor of former SJMC assistant dean and editing professor Joe R. Patrick, it recognizes outstanding copy editors — nitpickers in the Patrick tradition

Katherine Futch Scholars – Monica Snider, Lucius Pham, Amanda O’Brien, Madeline Haun
Futch Scholars are recognized as entering SJMC students who exhibit professionalism, intelligence and integrity.

Woodward Award for Public Affairs Reporting – Sarah Bogaards, Lorien MacEnulty, Shannon Rabotski
Established by gifts from SJMC alumni to honor Robert D. Woodward, the Ellis and Nelle Levitt distinguished professor of journalism, upon his retirement to recognize excellence in public affairs reporting

Meredith Apprentices (2019-20) – Editorial: JD Pelegrino, Emily Larson, Samantha Jones, Carson Reichardt, Caitlin Clement, Madi Koetting. Design: Nick Ellis, Katie Segler, Madison Kelly. Data Marketing: Julia Lanzel

Karyl Van Scholarship (2019-20) – Madison Kelly
Named after a longtime employee of the Meredith Corp. who devoted his working life to magazine publishing, the recipient of this award works in the E.T. Meredith Center for Magazine Studies

Meredith Corporation Scholars (2019-20) – Cheyann Neades, Madi Koetting, Ashley Flaws, Fatima Calderon Ceron, Kaili Miller, Emily Larson
These endowed scholarships support magazine majors in their studies

Patricia Prijatel Storyteller Award – Lorien MacEnulty
Named for a former SJMC director and founder of the E.T. Meredith Center for Magazine Studies, this award recognizes the student who best displays the ability to find, report, write, and publish stories that both inform and inspire