Dr. Eliza Dy-Boarman, associate professor of pharmacy practice in Drake University’s College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, successfully completed the American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP) Leadership and Management Certificate Program requirements.

The Leadership and Management Certificate is one of many programs offered by the ACCP Academy. The Academy, established in 2006, provides high-quality, flexible, and accessible professional development opportunities for members.

The Leadership and Management Certificate Program is designed to provide both professional and personal growth in one’s selected area of study. Participants dedicate time participating in live courses at ACCP meetings, including a prerequisite primer; three half-day required modules; and four two-hour elective courses for further study within specific topic areas of leadership and management. In addition to live educational programming, participants develop and complete online portfolios, complete a series of required readings, and are evaluated by one or more mentors.

The live session requirements of the program are led by Academy faculty, who represent national pharmacy programs from across the nation. These sessions focus on both foundational concepts (e.g., personal development, interpersonal skills, attributes of a leader, as well as more advanced topics (e.g., adaptive leadership, creating effective organizations, personnel evaluations).

“As I progress as a faculty member, I hope to serve in more leadership roles within the College and University, and I believe that concepts I learned in the Academy will allow me to better pursue and assume those types of roles. I hope to employ some of the leadership and management concepts to contribute to positive changes within our institution,” said Dy-Boarman. “I also believe that I can mentor and train students and junior faculty who seek to develop as leaders.”

Professor Dy-Boarman started at Drake University’s College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences in 2013. Besides teaching, she serves as the coordinator for P2 and advanced pharmacy practice experiences. She received an Emerging Teaching Scholar Award from the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy Council of Faculties in 2019 and serves on several college and university committees including the CPHS PharmD Admissions Committee and the Drake University Women and Leadership Committee.