Geoffrey C. Wall, professor of pharmacy practice, has been named the John R. Ellis Endowed Professor of Pharmacy Practice, effective July 1.  This  professorship was established by John R. Ellis over 12 years ago to recognize and reward superior performance by faculty members in the College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences.  

The criteria for selection of the Ellis Professorship include teaching effectiveness, professional contributions through scholarly activity, leadership roles, consulting activities, and contribution to the mission of the department, college, and university whose scholarship directly impacts the daily practice of pharmacy. The Ellis Chair assumes a leadership role in fostering research and scholarship in the College and delivers an annual lecture. The other Ellis distinguished professor at Drake is John Rovers, professor of pharmacy practice. 

A member of the faculty for over 20 years, Wall received his Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy from the University of Utah in 1992 and his Doctor of Pharmacy from Idaho State University in 1998.  He completed an ASHP-accredited Internal Medicine Specialty Residency at Scott and White Memorial Hospitals and Clinics in 1999.  He is Board-Certified in Pharmacotherapy (BCPS) and is a Fellow of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy (FCCP).  He became Professor of Clinical Sciences in 2011 and Director of Drake’s Drug Information Center in 2014. 

Wall’s clinical practices include the Internal Medicine and Medical Intensive Care Teaching Services at Iowa Methodist Medical Center in Des Moines.  He has authored over 100 refereed publications, abstracts, articles, and books and has made several presentations at various local, state, regional, national, and international forums.  He currently serves on the University’s Academic Freedom and Tenure Committee, the Parking Committee, and the Institutional Research Board.

“I am incredibly humbled and honored to receive this award”, said Wall. “During his career John Ellis was an exemplary leader in pharmacy practice and I can only hope to live up to his example to further the profession.”

In 2016, Wall received the national Pharmacy Times – Parata Next Generation Health Systems Pharmacist Award.  The Iowa Pharmacy Association has awarded him with the Health System Pharmacist of the Year (2004), and Appreciation Award (2013), and the Iowa Methodist Internal Medicine Medical Residency program named him the Faculty Teacher of the Year (2018,  2012, 2007).  University and College honors include being named the Levitt Mentor of the Year (2008), CPHS Mentor of the Year (2010, 2004), and CPHS Preceptor of the Year  (2015, 2006, 2001). He received the CPHS Hartig Distinguished Professor Award (2015, 2005), the CPHS Granberg Leadership Award (2012), and the inaugural Richard N. Morrow award (2017).

In addition to a record of excellence in teaching effectiveness; professional contributions through scholarly activity, leadership roles, and consulting activities; and contributions to the mission of the department, college and university, Wall was described  as being a “recognized leader for Drake’s College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences at both the state and national level. His efforts to promote the profession, our program and Drake University are extraordinary.”