Home College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences CPHS faculty leading the way in state organizations

CPHS faculty leading the way in state organizations

Three College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences at Drake University faculty members have been elected to leadership positions within their state associations.

Cheryl Clarke, PH’86, Assistant Dean for Clinical Affairs and Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice, was elected President-elect of the Iowa Pharmacy Association (IPA). Clarke will be inducted as President at the IPA Annual Meeting Friday, June 8, 2018. Following her year of serving as President, she will serve a year as Board Chairperson.

Steve Bowen, Assistant Professor of Occupational Therapy, was elected to a two-year term as President of the Iowa Occupational Therapy Association, which began January 1, 2018. In his welcome to the profession, Bowen encouraged the members to work together to expand membership, advocacy, and collaboration to ensure best practice for the people of Iowa. He shared that improved methods of providing continuing education, establishing meaningful relationships, and developing the future of the occupational therapy workforce would help the occupational therapy profession reach its goals. Bowen previously served as the lobbyist for the Nebraska Occupational Therapy Association and was most recently the co-chair for the legislative committee of IOTA.

Nate Newman, Associate Professor of Athletic Training and Director of the Masters in Athletic Training Program, was re-elected as Treasurer of the Iowa Athletic Trainers Society. His second terms starts in March and runs through 2020. Newman also serves as Chair of the Honors and Awards Committee and Chair of the Budget Committee for IATS.

“Drake University is proud to have our faculty serve in these leadership positions within our professional organizations,” said Renae Chesnut, dean and professor of the college of pharmacy and health sciences. “We are confident that their involvement will have a positive impact on our professions, our college and our alumni and students. We are thankful for their willingness to serve in this capacity.”