Home Law School News Drake Law hosts ABA Student Division spring meeting

Drake Law hosts ABA Student Division spring meeting

The Drake University Law School Student Bar Association (SBA) hosted the American Bar Association (ABA) Law Student Division 8th Circuit Spring Meeting and Governor Election on Feb. 11.

Over 30 law students from every state in the circuit attended the meeting. Schools in attendance included: Drake Law School; St. Louis University School of Law; University of Iowa College of Law; University of Minnesota Law School; University of Missouri Columbia School of Law; University of Missouri Kansas City School of Law; University of Nebraska College of Law; University of North Dakota School of Law; University of South Dakota School of Law; and Washington University School of Law.

“Attending the ABA LSD Spring Meeting at Drake University Law School was a great opportunity to learn about the advantages the ABA provides students and professionals,” said Drake Law 1L Michelle Grau. “It also provided an opportunity for us to network with law students from across our circuit and learn about the programs they are implementing in their own law schools.”

The meeting included sessions on: “Practicing in the 8th Circuit” with the Honorable Judge Pratt and Belin McCormick Associate Todd Lantz; a keynote on “Judicial Impartiality” by the Honorable Judge Hanson; a career session on “Exploring All Opportunities with Your Legal Degree” with General Counsel and Corporate Secretary at Kum & Go, L.C. Charley Campbell, Ben Parrott from the Iowa Attorney General’s Office, former Faegre & Benson attorney (and current Director of Drake’s Career Development Office) Jennifer Zwagerman, Hedberg & Boulton Partner Nate Boulton, Assistant General Counsel – Regulatory Affairs at Wellmark Blue Cross Blue Shield Michelle Lickteig, and Assistant United States Attorney Kirk Schuler; and a discussion on “Social Media, the Law and Your Career” by the Honorable Judge Blink.

Current 8th Circuit ABA LSD Governor Adam Little from the University of Nebraska College of Law presided over the remainder of the meeting, the governor election, and the presentation of awards. Andrew Polzin, a second-year student at the University of South Dakota School of Law was elected as the 2012-2013 ABA LSD 8th Circuit Governor.

Drake Law School took home three awards: a Bronze Key Award for hosting this year’s spring meeting, a Silver Key Award for contributions to the ABA LSD 8th Circuit, and an award for the highest increase in ABA Student Memberships of any school within the Circuit.

The meeting and election were held at the Nea & Bea Smith Legal Clinic. SBA President and 8th Circuit Lt. Governor Mike Traxinger, SBA ABA Representative Jennifer Anderson, and Drake Law School Director of Career Development Jennie Zwagerman organized the sessions.