Home School of Journalism and Mass Communication SJMC students honored at dessert reception

SJMC students honored at dessert reception

The School of Journalism and Mass Communication celebrated the graduating class of 2011 and winners of departmental scholarships during an awards ceremony on Sunday evening, April 3. See photos on Facebook.

Approximately 100 students, parents and faculty members attended the dessert reception, held in Levitt Hall of Old Main. This year for the first time, the graduating class was asked to nominate a senior to address them. Matt Vasilogambros, a news-Internet and politics major, was chosen for the honor.

Emily Cook, a magazine major, was recognized as the School’s top scholar, the senior with the highest grade point average. Her name will be engraved on a silver bowl and displayed in Meredith Hall.

Cook and  seven other students were inducted into the Kappa Tau Alpha national honor society, which recognizes juniors and seniors majoring in journalism or mass communication, based on scholarship and character. The 2011 inductees were:

  • Emily Cook
  • Monsicha Hoonsuwan
  • Anne Jacobson
  • Kelsey Jones
  • Jessica Kinkade
  • Diane Meyer
  • Matthew Shattuck
  • Abraham Swee

Other awards and scholarships announced at the reception included:



ADDY Award winners:

  • Gold Addy: Drake Ad Clubfor its “Creativity That’s Criminal” campaign
  • Silver Addy: Stephanie Anderson and Tyler Larsonfor their magazine ad “SJMC: There’s an App For That
  • Wesley Day Scholarship: Tyler Larson


Alpha Delta Sigma national professional advertising honorary society:

  • Jamie Rae Bailey
  • Mary Brueggemann
  • Stephanie Bruner
  • Allison George
  • Jonathan McDonald
  • Lydia Metzger
  • April Suzanne Meyer
  • Alejandro Munoz
  • Nicholas Sellers
  • Tyler Tran
  • Rachel Yancey

Erik Isgrig Advertising Scholarship:

  • Eryn Swain

Beth Walters-Peterson Award for outstanding work in copywriting:

  • Jenna Pate


Electronic media


94-1 “Top Dog” award:

  • A.J. Harrison

Hosman Awards for work on the Drake Digital News or other electronic publications sponsored by the SJMC:

  • Kyle Glaser
  • A.J. Harrison
  • Abraham Swee
  • Bailey Berg


Jim Duncan Memorial Scholarship, recognizing radio-television students for outstanding promise in production and performance:

  • Cameron Good
  • Autumn Moore


Ted Sell Memorial Award for a junior or senior interested in a career in print or television:

  • Kaitlin Berry


Frank Miller Awards:

  • Rebecca Altenhofen
  • Eamonn Cogan
  • Lauren Staller
  • Rachel Yancey


Iowa Broadcast News Association Award winners for 2010:

  • Laura Hoeft
  • Jess Hoffer
  • Paige Hulsey




Meredith Home and Family Journalism Apprentices 2010-11:

  • Caitlin Berens
  • Hannah Boom
  • Emily Cook
  • Kate Foley
  • Hannah Hoffman
  • Laura Johnson
  • Riane Menardi
  • Nick Sellers

Karyl Van Scholarship 2011-12 for student to work in the E.T. Meredith Center for Magazine Studies:

  • Katherine Minnick


Meredith Corp. Scholarships 2011-12:

  • McKenzie Anderson
  • Katherine Dewitt
  • Clara Haneberg
  • Kelly Hendricks
  • Laura Johnson
  • Rebecca Leonard
  • Jeff Nelson
  • Erika Owen
  • Marina Shawd
  • Rebecca Warner


American Society of Magazine Editors (ASME) summer internship:

  • Laura Johnson

Associated Collegiate Press Pacemaker award winner:

  • Think magazine staff 2010
  • Finalists: 515 Magazine, Drake Magazine, Times-Delphic, Periphery

SPJ Region 7 Mark of Excellence contest winners:

  • Sarah Andrews
  • Ari Curtis
  • Laura Johnson
  • Jason Oelmann
  • Nicole Salow
  • Rachel Vogel



Harrison Harding Memorial Scholarship for Times-Delphic editor-in-chief.:

  • Lizzie Pine (2010-11)
  • Kristen Smith (2011-12)


Iowa College Media Association Student Newspaper Contest winners:

  • Matt Vasilogambros
  • Sarah Andrews
  • Matt Moran
  • Dominic Johnson

Cyril and Lucille Clifton Scholarship for academic achievement:

  • Matt Nelson


Joe Patrick Green Eyeshade Award, recognizing an outstanding copy editor:

  • Mary Bess Bolling


Lottie and Robert Brown Scholarship, recognizing an entering SJMC student who exhibits outstanding academic and leadership potential:

  • Mary Kate Wachtel
  • Amanda Laurent


Katherine Futch Scholarship, recognizing an entering  SJMC student who exhibits professionalism, intelligence and integrity:

  • Megan Bannister
  • Gwen Baumgartner
  • Tyler O’Neil
  • John Thumser


Larry Neibergall Scholarship for photojournalism:

  • Sarah Andrews


Frank Miller Scholarship for contributions in the area of Web-based graphic design:

  • Kerri Sorrell


Woodward Award for Public Affairs Reporting, recognizing excellence in public affairs reporting:

  • Ann Schnoebelen


Robert D. Woodward Endowed Scholarship for a news-Internet major who has demonstrated a passion for accuracy, ethical decision-making, and reporting and editing the facts:

  • Jaclyn Wallentin

Public relations


Tom Norquist Memorial Award:

  • MacKensie Smith
  • Evan Tonda
  • Sean Walsh


Fausch Awards for outstanding contributions to research for the senior capstone:

  • Lauren Brandt
  • Hillary Gebert
  • Stephanie Grow
  • Anne Jacobson
  • Goizane Mullin


Bateman Case Study Competition participants:

  • Elsa Becker
  • Jessie Hill
  • Jessica Reisig
  • Jessica Scott
  • Sean Walsh