Home Official News Releases Five new members elected to Drake Board of Trustees

Five new members elected to Drake Board of Trustees

News Photo

CONTACT: Tory Olson, 515-271-1834, tory.olson@drake.edu

Five new members recently were elected to the Drake University Board of Trustees. All five will serve three-year terms on the board, which meets four times yearly and serves as the University’s policy-making and governing body.

The new members are:

  • Dennis Albaugh of Ankeny, Iowa, chairman of Albaugh Inc. will begin his term in January, 2009. He
    graduated with an agriculture business degree from Des Moines Area
    Community College. Albaugh is chief executive of Albaugh Inc. and has
    owned the company since 1979. The company is a privately owned,
    independent manufacturer of crop protection products such as
    herbicides, pesticides, fungicides and plant-growth regulators.

News Photo
Dennis Albaugh, Mark A. Ernst and R.W. Nelson
  • Mark A. Ernst of Mission Hills, Kan., CEO of Bellevue Capital LLC and a 1980 graduate of Drake University. Ernst is involved with the Athletic Affairs, Business and Finance, Enrollment and Institutional Advancement committees. Bellevue
    Capital is a private investment firm specializing in early-stage and
    specialty finance businesses. Ernst, who also received his master’s
    degree in business from the University of Chicago Graduate School of
    Business, previously served as the chairman, CEO and president of
    H&R Block.
  • R.W. Nelson of Des Moines, chairman of Kemin Industries Inc. and a 1950 graduate of Drake University. He began his term in October, 2008.
    Nelson previously was president and chairman of Kemin Industries and
    served as a sales representative for Flavor Corp. of America Inc. He
    has received a number of awards, including Drake’s Alumni Achievement
    Award, and was inducted into the Iowa Business Hall of Fame in 2006.

News Photo
Suku Radia and William E. Smith
  • Suku Radia of Des Moines, CEO and president of Bankers Trust Co. He
    serves on the Business and Finance; Audit; Enrollment; Institutional
    Advancement committees. He
    previously was CFO of Meredith Corp. for eight years and worked for 25
    years at KPMG, a professional services firm. Radia, a native of
    Kampala, Uganda, is a graduate of Iowa State University. He also is a
    member of Mercy Medical Center’s Board of Directors. Radia has received
    Iowa State’s Distinguished Alumni Award and United Way’s Tocqueville
  • Dr. William E. Smith of Paradise Valley, Ariz., an internal
    medicine doctor and nephrologist and a 1970 graduate of Drake
    University.Smith started his term in October, 2008, and will serve on the Academic
    Affairs, Business and Finance and Student Life committees.
    He is a private practice nephrologist who is board certified in
    internal medicine and nephrology, the science that deals with the
    kidneys. Smith, who earned his M.D. from the University of Kansas, also
    is a clinical instructor in medicine at the University of Arizona
    School of Medicine in Tucson. He was the 2004 fellow of the American
    Society of Nephrology.