Home Official News Releases Drake alumni to be honored at annual Pharmacy and Health Sciences Day

Drake alumni to be honored at annual Pharmacy and Health Sciences Day

photo of Jennifer Fix, Geoff Lawton and David Sohl
Jennifer Fix, Geoff Lawton and David Sohl.

CONTACT: Tory Olson, 515-271-1834, tory.olson@drake.edu

Three outstanding pharmacy alumni will be honored at the Drake University College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences’ 21st student-organized Pharmacy and Health Sciences Day on Tuesday, Feb. 26. The theme of the day is “Increasing the Dose of Communication.”

The 2008 Alumni Achievement Awards will be presented to Jennifer Fix and Geoffrey Lawton, and the 2008 Young Alumni Achievement Award will go to Lt. David Sohl. The honorees were selected based on their service to the College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, distinction in their careers and recognized civic and community contributions.

The honors will be presented at 10:15 a.m. on the Jordan Stage in Sheslow Auditorium in Old Main, 2507 University Ave.

•    Fix, a resident of Haltom City, Texas, received her bachelor’s in pharmacy from Drake in 1985 and master’s in business from Drake in 1986. She is president of Jen-Rx Inc., owner of the Medicine Shoppe in Halton City and consultant and instructor for Technician Training. Fix was awarded the American Pharmacists Association Good Government Pharmacist of the Year award in 2007 and currently serves as director of the Texas Pharmacy Association and Academy of Independent Pharmacists, as well as preceptor for the University of Texas and Drake University.

•    Lawton, a resident of Englewood, Colorado, graduated from Drake in 1992 and is vice president of business development and physician services at Littleton Adventist Hospital. Lawton is a fellow with the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists and was named Pharmacist of the Year by the Colorado Pharmacists Society in 2006.

•    Sohl, a resident of Corpus Christi, Texas, graduated from Drake in 2004 and is a lieutenant of the Medical Service Corps for the U.S. Navy. He previously received the Navy and Marine Corps Achievement Medal, and was named the Navy Junior Pharmacist of the Year in 2006. In addition, Sohl serves as the head of pharmacy at the Naval Hospital Corpus Christi, as well as on the Navy Pharmacy Advisory Board.

The day will begin with registration at 8 a.m. in Levitt Hall in Old Main, 2507 University Ave. The day’s events will start in Sheslow Auditorium in Old Main, with a presentation of Preceptor, Mentor and Teacher of the Year awards at 8:30 a.m., followed by a keynote address at 9 a.m. by Kara Jacobson, faculty member at the Emory Center on Health Outcomes and Quality in Atlanta.

Jacobson will speak on “Health Literacy: Implications for the Health Sciences,” introducing pharmacists and heath care professionals to the problem of low health literacy in patient populations.

The day will also feature a lunch and a series of mini-sessions from noon to 3 p.m. on the upper level of Olmsted Center, 2875 University Ave. Participants can choose to attend the following sessions:

•    “North American Pharmacist Licensure Examination” with Becky Hall and Jennifer O’Toole of the Iowa Board of Pharmacy

•    “Rotations” with Denise Soltis of Drake University

•    “Managed Care Pharmacy” with Dan Brust of Express Scripts Inc.

•    “Financial Guru” with Kalvin Grabau-Keele of Northwestern Mutual Financial Network

•    “Residency Panel” with Ellen Coughlin of Mercy Family Pharmacy, Holly Wilmes of Mercy Medical Center, Andrew Miesner of Iowa Methodist Medical Center and Emily Frauenholtz Mercy Medical Center

Pharmacy Day will also feature a silent and live auction by the student organization DRxUGS, and will conclude at 3 p.m. with a presentation of student awards and scholarships and the announcement of auction winners.