Home Law School News Law School Moot Court team places first in regionals

Law School Moot Court team places first in regionals

News Photo
Emily Peebler, Christian Walk and Jill Link (left to right) stand with judges from the National Moot Court Competition.

The Drake University Law School National Moot Court team finished first in a field of 14 teams at the regional rounds of the National Moot Court Competition held Nov. 16-18 in Vermillion, S.D. Drake and the second-place team from the University of South Dakota will advance as one of 28 teams to compete at the national finals in New York City from Jan. 29 through Feb. 1, 2007.

The Drake team, which also won the Best Respondent’s Brief Award, consists of Emily Peebler, a third-year student from Robins, Iowa; Jill Link, a third-year student from Des Moines; and Christian Walk, a second-year student from Des Moines. Peebler won the Best Oralist in the Final Round. Walk placed fifth among the individual oralist awards and Peebler finished sixth.

“It’s a great recognition of the tremendous time and effort the teams have put into preparing for the competition,” said Laurie Dore, professor of law and coach. “I expect they will do as well when we go to New York City.”

This is the 15th time in 17 years that one of our teams has earned a place in the National Tournament in New York City and the 13th time in 17 years that we’ve placed first in the regionals, said Law School Dean David Walker. “Moot Court at Drake is simply an outstanding tradition and a great tribute to the talent and hard work of our students.”

A second Drake Law School team, which placed third, consists of Mary Lindstrom, a third-year student from Galesburg, Ill.; Andrea Jensen, a second-year student from Beldenville, Wis.; and Jacob Lofgren, a second-year student from Des Moines. Lindstrom finished fourth among the individual oralist awards. The team was defeated in the semi-finals.

Both Drake teams are sponsored by the Des Moines law firm of Whitfield & Eddy.

The National Moot Court Competition, one of the oldest and most prestigious of its kind in the country, is jointly sponsored by the American College of Trial Lawyers and the Association of the Bar of the City of New York.