Home Law School News Law School Commencement Ceremony

Law School Commencement Ceremony

The Law School held its Annual Commencement Ceremony on Saturday, May 13, 2006 in the Knapp Center at Drake University before a crowd of approximately 2,500.

One hundred and fifty-nine members of the Class of 2006 received their Juris Doctor degrees in a ceremony attended by students, family and friends, faculty and staff of the Law School, the Provost Ronald Troyer, President David Maxwell, and members of the Drake Board of Trustees.

The featured speaker was the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Wisconsin Shirley S. Abrahamson.

Among other honors, Chief Justice Abrahamson has received was the American Judicature Society’s 2004 Dwight D. Opperman Award for Distinguished Judicial Service.

Abrahamson recalled her own days as a law school graduate 50 years ago, told the students that great careers were possible in the law and very much needed, and urged the students to serve the profession and help it to address the many challenges that lie ahead for the courts and the Bar.

Also speaking to the graduates and those attending were Ben Ullem, LW’69, on behalf of the Board of Trustees; President Maxwell; SBA President and 2006 graduate Brooke Timmer; Alan Fredregill, LW’75, President of the Board of Counselors; and Dean David Walker.

A reception was held afterwards at the downtown Marriott attended by more than 600 graduates, family, friends, faculty and staff, and Chief Justice Abrahamson.