Home  »  Newsroom  »  Drake News  »  Law School News

Law School News

Wade Leak of Sony Music to discuss legal perspective on music industry

Wade Leak of Sony Music Entertainment will give a free lecture as part of the Drake Intellectual Property Law Center’s Big IDEA Speaker Series on April 6.
March 28, 2017

Ambassador Stephen Rapp to present "In Pursuit of International Criminal Justice" April 6

Stephen Rapp, Drake Law alumnus and former U.S. Ambassador-at-Large for Global Criminal Justice, will deliver a free lecture on international criminal justice April 6.
March 27, 2017

Drake Law alumnus’ career path leads him to Silicon Valley

Over his career, Phillip Maroc, LW'92, has worked for multiple Silicon Valley companies, including the multinational computer software company Adobe Systems Inc., where he currently serves as senior legal counsel.
March 22, 2017

Drake’s legal writing program ranked in top 20 by US News

Drake Law School’s legal writing program was ranked 18th in the nation by U.S. News & World Report in the publication’s 2018 Best Grad Schools list.
March 21, 2017

Professor Kende provides expertise in constitutional law

As director of the Drake Constitutional Law Center, Professor Mark Kende is frequently asked about constitutional law issues by local media as well as national publications such as Fortune Magazine and The Washington Post.
March 21, 2017

3L Shannon Bogolin uses personal experience to advocate for children

When Shannon Bogolin was 16 years old, she became a Child In Need of Assistance (CINA) and was placed in independent living. Now more than two decades later, she is getting her law degree to become an advocate for juveniles.
March 20, 2017

Big IDEA Speaker Series continues March 30 with “Strategy & Tactics in Patent Litigation”

Charles Monterio Jr., intellectual property partner at Blank Rome LLP in Washington, D.C., will discuss patent litigation strategy as part of the Intellectual Property Law Center’s Big IDEA Speaker Series on March 30.
March 15, 2017

Con Law Symposium to explore President Obama’s constitutional law legacy

The Drake Constitutional Law Center will welcome experts from across the country to discuss “President Obama’s Constitutional Law Legacy,” at the annual Constitutional Law Symposium on April 8.
March 14, 2017

80th Annual Supreme Court Celebration is March 30-April 1

The three-day celebration includes student and alumni events, concluding with the Supreme Court Celebration Banquet and Awards Ceremony, where The Hon. Solomon Oliver Jr., chief judge of the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Ohio, will serve as keynote speaker.
March 10, 2017

Q&A with SBA President Chas Cahill

Meet Chas Cahil, the newly elected 2017-18 president of the Drake Law School Student Bar Association (SBA).
March 9, 2017

Drake Law School announces 2017 alumni award winners

Drake Law School is pleased to announce this year’s alumni award winners. Pat Houlihan, LW’82, and Dan Jacobi, LA'76, LW’86, were named 2017 Alumni of the Year, and Nate Boulton, LW’05, GR'05, and Kathleen Law, LW’05, were named 2017 Recent Alumni of the Year.
March 8, 2017

Drake Law Diversity Week 2017 is Feb. 27-March 3

Drake Law School’s student organizations have planned various events for Diversity Week Feb. 27-March 3. Events include diversity panels, lectures, tabling, prizes, and more.
February 27, 2017

Visiting University of Havana professors to lecture on impact of Cuban embargo

Three visiting professors from the University of Havana, Cuba, will present “The Impact of the Blockade on Cuban Society and Perspectives on the New Policy on Foreign Investment in Cuba" on March 8 at Drake Law School.
February 23, 2017

Constitutional Law Center Distinguished Lecture Series to explore Thirteenth Amendment

Professor Kurt Lash of the University of Illinois College of Law will deliver a lecture titled “On the 150th Anniversary of the Reconstruction Amendments: The Two Thirteenth Amendments” on March 2.
February 16, 2017

Wilson White of Google to lecture at Big IDEA Speaker Series

Wilson L. White, public policy and government relations senior counsel at Google, will give a free lecture on artificial intelligence as part of the Drake Intellectual Property Law Center’s Big IDEA Speaker Series.
February 2, 2017