Home  »  Newsroom  »  Drake News  »  College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences

College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences

Cheryl Clarke named Fellow of the American Pharmacists Association

Drake University College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences Assistant Dean for Clinical Affairs and Director of Experiential Education Cheryl Clarke, PH’86, was recently selected as a Fellow of the American Pharmacists Association (APhA)
July 17, 2015

The Right Prescription for Internationalization

Drake University College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences students Kelsey Japs and Erica Truong discuss their international rotations to the Dominican Republic in an article on influencing local and global health.
NAFSA: Association of International Educators

Food for Thought

Associate Professor of Pharmacology Craige Wrenn, the Ronald Troyer Research Fellow, wonders if we can eat our way out of Alzheimer’s.
June 30, 2015

Natalie Roy named IPA's Karbeling Leadership Award Winner

Natalie Roy is currently a fourth-year PharmD student at Drake University. In addition to her varied internship experiences, Natalie served as Legislative intern for Representative John Frobes where she researched and assisted in developing health care legislation. She also co-founded an interprofessional group of Drake and Des Moines University students who seek collaboration through education […]
June 22, 2015

Mike Pursel recipient of IPA Appreciation Award

Mike Pursel, Drake alum, was the recipient of the IPA Appreciation Award, as announced at the IPA Annual Meeting on June 12, 2015 in Coralville, Iowa. The Iowa Pharmacy Association Appreciation Award was created in 1988 to recognize individuals and corporations for their support of organized pharmacy in the state of Iowa. Mike is the […]
June 22, 2015

Drake Faculty and Alumni Inducted into IPA's New Board of Trustees for 2015-2016

Congratulations to the Incoming and Continuing 2015-2016 IPA Board of Trustee Members: John Swegle, PH'92 Chair of the Board Mason City Rick Knudson, PH'98 President-Elect Clear Lake CoraLynn Trewet, PH'03 Speaker of the House Ankeny Kristin Meyer, PH'00 (associate professor) Trustee, Region 1 Marshalltown Erik Maki (associate professor) Trustee, Region 3 Johnston Christina Bravos, P3 […]
June 22, 2015

CPHS Alumni named American Society of Health-System Pharmacists Fellows

Congratulations to the following Drake alumni on being named American Society of Health-System Pharmacists Fellows, as announced on Tuesday, June 9, 2015 during the ASHP Summer Meetings in Denver, CO: Brian Benson, PH’96 Melissa Corrigan, PH’89 The ASHP Practitioner Recognition Program is intended to recognize excellence in pharmacy practice and promote public awareness of pharmacists […]
June 15, 2015

Pharmacy professor pens Diabetes Case Studies book

June Johnson, professor of pharmacy practice, is the primary author of a new casebook that helps student pharmacists and practitioners to provide quality diabetes care. Diabetes Case Studies (with Interprofessional Perspectives) will be available exclusively in the American Pharmacists Association's online subscription platform, PharmacyLibrary, beginning June 1, 2015.  It provides teaching faculty and practitioners a rich source of […]
May 29, 2015

CPHS 2015 Hooding Ceremony

At the hooding ceremony on May 15, students received their doctoral hoods and took the Oath of a Pharmacist, led by Felix Gallagher, Pharm D, President of PharmServ Solutions and Chair of the CPHS National advisory Council. James Sacco, CPHS Assistant Professor and winner of the 2014-15 CPHS Teacher of the Year award gave faculty […]
May 20, 2015

CPHS 2015 Pinning Ceremony

Drake University’s College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences (CPHS) held its annual Pinning Ceremony on Thursday, May 7, 2015. The Pinning Ceremony, a longstanding tradition for CPHS, serves as a memorable event for third year pharmacy students and health sciences majors as it marks their entry into their capstone experiences. Additionally, four prestigious awards are […]
May 20, 2015

Renae Chesnut named interim dean of the College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences

Renae Chesnut, associate dean of Academic and Student Affairs since 2004, has been promoted to serve as interim dean of the College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences (CPHS) effective June 18, 2015.
May 15, 2015

Pharmacy students raise money for Medicine for Mali

Pharmacy students raised $4,700 to support Medicine for Mali, a nonprofit organization that provides health services in Mali, West Africa.
May 8, 2015

Russ Johnson Jr., 2015 recipient of the Weaver Medal of Honor

  Russ Johnson Jr., PH’52, was selected to receive the 2015 Lawrence C. and Delores M. Weaver Medal of Honor, the highest honor given by Drake University’s College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences (CPHS). The Weaver Medal of Honor recognizes an individual’s dedication to making a substantial impact on the profession of pharmacy and the […]
April 29, 2015

Art Imitates Life

It is a masterful design of cells and tissue, organs and vessels, ligaments and bone. The human body is a work of art. Dr. Meyer Emanuel understood its intricacies and translated them with brush and palette. The urologist and gastrointestinal surgeon took to the canvas at age 55, and over the next three decades produced […]
April 21, 2015

Dr. Ann Burkhardt named Director of Occupational Therapy Program

The College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences has announced Dr. Ann Burkhardt as the director of the Occupational Therapy program at Drake University, effective July 1, 2015. Burkhardt is currently a therapy resources management (TRM) occupational therapist at Crestwood & Grace Barker Nursing and Rehabilitation facilities in Warren, Rhode Island. Until 2010, she served as […]
April 10, 2015