Home  »  Newsroom  »  Drake News  »  Article

Drake College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences celebrates annual pinning and hooding ceremonies

May 15, 2014

Drake University’s College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences (CPHS) held its annual Pinning Ceremony on Thursday, May 8, and will hold its Pharm.D. Hooding Ceremony on Saturday, May 17. The Hooding Ceremony will begin at 4 p.m. in the Knapp Center, 2601 Forest Ave.

The Pinning Ceremony, a longstanding tradition for CPHS, serves as a memorable event for third year pharmacy students and health sciences majors as it marks their entry into their capstone experiences. Additionally, four prestigious awards are presented: the Cardinal Health Student Scholarship Award and the Larson Engaged Practitioner Award, given to P3 students, and the Health Sciences Leadership Award and the Outstanding Health Sciences Student Award.

The following students were presented awards at the 2014 Pinning Ceremony:
• Kevin Betthauser, Larson Engaged Practitioner Award
• Rachel Herr, Cardinal Health Student Scholarship Award
• Melissa Parks, Outstanding Health Sciences Student Award
• Ngoc (Jade) Cao, Outstanding Health Sciences Student Leadership Award

At the hooding ceremony on May 17, students will receive their doctoral hoods and take the Oath of a Pharmacist, led by a representative from the Iowa Pharmacy Association. Abebe Mengesha, assistant professor of pharmaceutics, will serve as the keynote speaker. Mengesha was awarded Teacher of the Year in 2014.

For more information, contact Renae Chesnut at or 515-271-4171.