During the annual Health Professions Day (formerly Pharmacy and Health Sciences Day), held on February 24, 2022, the College of Pharmacy and Health Science presented several awards to faculty members who demonstrated outstanding teaching, mentorship, scholarship, and professional involvement over the past year within their fields. Nominations for the awards are sought from students and colleagues alike from within the college. 

Darla Eastman, Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice, was named the Hartig Distinguished Professor. This award recognizes a pharmacy faculty member who has distinguished him or herself in teaching, scholarship, service, or practice. Among several national and statewide recognitions, Dr. Eastman has been instrumental in assisting the college faculty with the implementation of electronic testing, as well as her involvement in the Unity Point surgical team and providing them with much-needed pharmacy services. 

Dr. Darla Eastman and Dean Chesnut

Ginelle Bryant, Professor of Pharmacy Practice, was honored with the C. Boyd Granberg Professional Leadership Award. This award is given to a pharmacy faculty member who is committed to professional organizational leadership – both for themselves and among students. Dr. Bryant has been extensively involved in a number of national organizations, as well as serving as the Phi Lambda Sigma advisor. Phi Lambda Sigma developed an educational program on Naloxone for the Drake Security personnel.   

Dr. Ginelle Bryant and Dean Chesnut

Nora Stelter, Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice and Introductory Pharmacy Practice Experiences Coordinator, was honored with the Richard Morrow Transformational Leadership Award. This award recognizes a faculty member whose transformational work has gone above and beyond. Transformational leaders focus on team-building, motivation and collaboration with colleagues to accomplish change for the better. They identify a needed change, create a vision to guide the change through inspiration, and execute the change through collaboration. Stelter was a leader in the College’s vaccination efforts that led to more than 10,000 central Iowans being vaccinated, including several central Iowa educators and health care professionals.  

Dr. Nora Stelter and Dean Chesnut

The College’s Student Governance Association announced the following teaching and mentoring awards:  

Alisa Drapeaux, Assistant Professor of Health Sciences, CPHS Teacher of the Year  

Dr. Alisa Drapeaux

Shankar Munusamy, Associate Professor of Pharmacology, CPHS Mentor of the Year

Dr. Shankar Munusamy

Sarah Grady, Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice, CPHS Preceptor of the Year

Dr. Sarah Grady