Third-year student pharmacist Isabelle Tharp.

Third-year pharmacy student Isabelle Tharp is one of 19 pharmacy students nationwide to receive a 2021-2022 American Pharmacists Association (APhA) Foundation Scholarship. The recipients were selected based on their academic accomplishments and for their leadership skills as demonstrated by their active involvement in the APhA Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA-ASP). Tharp received the Gloria Francke Scholarship

“Being awarded this scholarship shows me how much APhA wants to recognize and support students’ involvement outside of the classroom,” said Tharp. “I feel grateful for the opportunities I have been able to take part in because of my support system within CPHS.” 

Tharp joined the Drake University College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences chapter of APhA-ASP as a sophomore pre-pharmacy student, serving on the Generation Rx Committee. She went on to serve as the Social Media Chair, President-elect, and now she currently serves as President of the organization. Tharp attended two APhA-ASP Midyear Regional Meetings as well as the 2019 Summer Leadership Institute. 

Tharp is involved outside of APhA-ASP as well. She previously served as a Legislative Intern in the Iowa House of Representatives and Executive Intern for the Iowa Pharmacy Association (IPA). Tharp currently works as a pharmacy intern at Methodist West Hospital in West Des Moines. 

“We are proud of Isabelle’s award that recognizes her leadership and professional involvement,” said Renae Chesnut, dean and professor of the College.  “This award from a national organization is also recognition that we are achieving our mission of preparing today’s learners to become tomorrow’s health care leaders.”