At the 2020 annual meeting, held virtually September 14-18, the Iowa Pharmacists Association (IPA) recognized pharmacists and student pharmacists for their contributions of leadership, patient care, professional involvement, and public service. The awards serve to capture Iowa pharmacy’s spirit of service and its culture of professionalism. Several students, faculty, and alumni from the College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences (CPHS) were honored with awards and recognition. 

  • Olivia Welter, fourth-year pharmacy student, received the Jerry M. Karbeling Leadership Award. This award was established by the IPA Foundation as a tribute to the leadership and service of the late Jerry Karbeling. Recipients of this award have outstanding involvement in professional organizations and the political process as it relates to the pharmacy profession.  
  • Andy Miesner PH’07, associate professor of pharmacy practice and clinical pharmacist of the Internal Medicine Teaching Service at the Broadlawns Medical Center in Des Moines, Iowa, was recognized as the Health-System Pharmacist of the Year. The Health-System Pharmacist of the Year Award is a national awards program that recognizes a health-system pharmacist who demonstrates service to the pharmacy profession, specifically hospital pharmacy; contributions to pharmacy programs; cooperation with the entire health care team; and service to the community.  
  • Michael Daly, associate professor of pharmacy practice and informatics pharmacist at The Iowa Clinic in Des Moines, Iowa, was recognized with the Excellence in Innovation Award. The Excellence in Innovation Award recognizes pharmacists who have demonstrated significant innovation in their respective practices.  
  • Iowa Senator Tom Greene, PH’73, from Burlington, Iowa, was awarded the Individual Appreciation Award. The Individual Appreciation Award recognizes individuals and corporations for their support of organized pharmacy in the state of Iowa.

Faculty and alumni inducted into leadership positions with the association included Kristin Meyer, PH’00, Speaker of the House; Coralynn Trewett, PH’03, Treasurer; and Nancy Bell, PH’90, at-large board member. IPA also recognized outgoing board members during the Annual Meeting. Cheryl Clarke, PH’86, assistant dean of clinical affairs and director of experiential education, was recognized as the outgoing Chairman of the IPA Board and as an incoming IPA Foundation Board Member. Sally Haack, PH’02, professor of clinical sciences, and Joshua Hart, third-year pharmacy student, were recognized as outgoing IPA board members.  

“We are proud of the recognition of outstanding work that these award recipients and elected leaders have received,” said Renae Chesnut, dean and professor of the College. “We are also thankful for the number of faculty and alumni who are dedicated to the Iowa Pharmacy Association and serve in leadership roles to advance the pharmacy profession forward.”