Iowa is one of 27 states selected by the Community Pharmacy Foundation (CPF) to participate in the new “Flip the Pharmacy” grant program. The multi-year Flip the Pharmacy program, a five-year partnership of the CPF and Community Pharmacy Enhanced Services Network (CPESN) USA, aims to transform community-based pharmacies from a product-driven business model focused on a moment in time, to a service-driven business model focused on longitudinal patient care plans through hands-on coaching.

Drake University College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences joined with the Iowa CPESN to bring the Flip the Pharmacy Grant to Iowa. Other partners include Tabular Rasa Healthcare/Prescribe Wellness, the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy, the Iowa Pharmacy Association, Medicap GRx Holdings, Cardinal Health, and Pharmacists Mutual Foundation to bring the Flip the Pharmacy Grant to Iowa.

Practice Transformation Teams will act as implementation arms for locally-based community pharmacy practice transformation efforts. Erin Ulrich, associate professor of pharmacy administration, and Kristin Meyer, associate professor of pharmacy practice at Drake will serve on a Practice Transformation Team for pharmacies in Iowa, while Mike Andreski, associate professor of pharmacy administration will provide research support.  

“It’s exciting to be able to build on the relationship between Iowa’s community pharmacies and Drake’s College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences to transform patient care,” says Meyer.

Other Drake pharmacy faculty will provide webinars and training sessions, all designed to collaborate with the Practice Transformation Team to flip community pharmacies in Iowa to the patient care focused business approach.

See the CPF website for more information.