Dr. Jerrid Kruse, Associate Professor of Education, was selected as the 2019 Outstanding Science Teacher Educator of the Year by the Association of Science Teacher Education (ASTE). The award was announced at ASTE’s annual international conference held in Savannah, Georgia on January 3-5. The award is chosen based on six criteria: (1) Competency in Teaching, (2) Development of Science Teacher Education Programs, (3) Research Activities, (4) Development of Science Curricula, (5) Leadership in Science Teacher Education, and (6) Leadership beyond Science Education.

The Association for Science Teacher Education is a non-profit, international organization with the mission to promote excellence in science teacher education through innovation and scholarship. With over 800 members world-wide, ASTE provides professional development for teachers of science at all grade levels. Their annual conference focuses on the professional growth, research, and policy development for the enhancement of science teaching.