Home College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences 2016 CPHS Alumni Achievement Awards

2016 CPHS Alumni Achievement Awards

Drake University’s College of Pharmacy and Health Science’s Alumni Achievement awards will be presented during the annual Pharmacy & Health Sciences Day, being held this year on Thursday, Feb. 18 at 10:30 a.m., in Old Main Sheslow Auditorium. Recipients of the annual Alumni Achievement awards are honored for their exceptional contributions to the college, distinction in their careers, and/or civic and community contributions. In addition, the college issues its Young Alumni Award to one alumna or alumnus within 10 years of graduation.

“It is an honor to recognize these distinguished alumni for their achievements”, said Renae Chesnut, dean of the college. “Their professional accomplishments, commitment to our students, and dedication to their communities is inspiring.”

Anthony Bono, PH’78

Bono currently holds a principal position with IMS Health, through which he provides consultative services to Walgreens. Previously, he served as the area vice president of sales for Asteres, a prescription delivery kiosk service, as well as several years with Walgreens in a variety of senior leadership roles. Bono is also a former president of the greater Chicago chapter of the Illinois Pharmacist Association. He is currently a member of the National Advisory Council for the College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences.

Lisa Stalheim Crose, BSPS’03

Crose is a senior research associate at Duke University Medical Center’s Department of Pediatrics. She has studied alveolar rhabdomyosarcoma, a rare pediatric cancer, to gain support for developing new treatments for this disease. In 2016, Crose will begin working as a research scientist at Camargo Pharmaceutical Services, where she will assist pharmaceutical companies in their FDA approval process to bring new drug products to market. She is also co-founding a non-profit research organization, Translocation Innovations, with the mission of studying rare pediatric cancers. Crose received her Ph.D. in pharmacology in 2009 from the University of North Carolina. 

Felix Gallagher, PH’00

Gallagher is the principal of PharmServ Staffing, a regional pharmacy staffing firm and Iowa’s leading pharmacist provider. His responsibilities include overseeing daily operations and driving the firm’s strategic plan to ensure PharmServ provides innovative and collaborative solutions to its clients and flexible career opportunities to its pharmacists. Gallagher serves as a Trustee for DMACC, is the National Chair for the Health and Wellness Committee of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. and serves as Chair of Drake’s College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences National Advisory Council.

Gregory Johansen, PH’76

Johansen is the president and founder of GRX Holdings, LLC, an operator of more than 20 Medicap and other community pharmacies in central Iowa. Previously, he served as the senior vice president of pharmacy solutions for Medicine Shoppe International, a franchisor of nearly 1,000 pharmacies in the United States. In 2000, he received the Entrepreneur of the Year Award from Medicine Shoppe International. Johansen has been a National Advisory Council Member for the College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences since 2011, and is a Drake University Board of Trustees Member.

Craig Mandel, AS’66, PH’69

Mandel has had a long-standing career in community pharmacy, serving patients for 44 years. For 18 years, he owned and operated Craig’s Family Pharmacy in Glen Ellyn,IL. Since his retirement, he has volunteered in the soil and root research laboratories at the Morton Arboretum in Lisle, Ill. Mandel has been a contributor to Friends of Drake Arts and is a sponsor of the White Coat Program. He has also assisted the College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences by contributing to renovations in Harvey-Ingham Hall and Cline Hall.

Allyson Wierda Schlichte, PH’06, Young Alumni Award Recipient

Schlichte is the medication therapy management operations lead and provider for Fairview Pharmacy Services. Schlichte is responsible for visiting patients to facilitate medication management, and supervising her fellow medication therapy management pharmacists. She also oversees fourth-year pharmacy students from the University of Minnesota. In 2014, Schlichte received the Champion of Care Award from the Fairview Foundation, and in 2015, she was recognized as a Distinguished Young Pharmacist by the Minnesota Pharmacists Association and Pharmacists Mutual.