Home College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences Natalie Roy named IPA’s Karbeling Leadership Award Winner

Natalie Roy named IPA’s Karbeling Leadership Award Winner

Natalie Roy is currently a fourth-year PharmD student at Drake University. In addition to her varied internship experiences, Natalie served as Legislative intern for Representative John Frobes where she researched and assisted in developing health care legislation. She also co-founded an interprofessional group of Drake and Des Moines University students who seek collaboration through education and real-world problem solving. An active IPA member, Natalie has participated in the Bill Burke Student Leadership Conference, served IPA committees, and was the 2014 Max W. Eggleston Executive Intern. Natalie has demonstrated exceptional leadership both within the college and the profession, being selected for several professional activities and honors. Natalie’s nominator stated: “She is a hard-working student and understands the balance of academics along with professional and community outreach activities.”

In tribute to the leadership and service provided by the late Jerry Karbeling, the IPA Foundation has established a special award for student pharmacists at Iowa’s two Colleges of Pharmacy. The award is designed to recognize two student pharmacists (one from Drake University and one from the University of Iowa) for their contributions to professional organizations and the political process. Each College of Pharmacy submits one nomination to the IPA Board of Trustees recognizing the most deserving P3 student who has made significant contributions to the political process and professional organizations as a student pharmacist.