Home Law School News Drake Law alumni honored at ISBA Presidential Banquet

Drake Law alumni honored at ISBA Presidential Banquet

Four Drake Law alumni and one former dean were recently recognized at the Iowa State Bar Association’s (ISBA) Presidential Banquet. The banquet is held during the ISBA’s annual conference in June.

Guy Cook honors David Brown

David Brown, LW’75, received a special award from the ISBA. He was awarded the “Keeper of the Flame” award. The award was given in recognition of Brown’s tireless, persistent, and remarkable efforts on behalf of the bar and the legal profession.

“He has a commitment to the practice of law like few others. David is a true advocate for the rule of law and the vital work lawyers provide,” says Guy Cook, LW’81, outgoing president of ISBA. “He is a genuine friend to lawyers and judges everywhere. David’s selfless concern for the past and future generations of lawyers and traditions of the legal profession is unmatched, hence he was recognized as the “keeper of the flame.”
Brown is also a previous recipient of the ISBA Award of Merit.

Nick Critelli

Nick Critelli, LA’66, LW’67, was given the 2014 Award of Merit, the highest honor given by the association for individuals who demonstrate outstanding service to their clients, the legal profession and their communities.

“Nick V. Critelli, Jr., embodies the principles upon which the Award of Merit was established. He has tirelessly applied the law to assist his clients during the 47 years he has been in practice,” says Cook. “He has far exceeded what is expected in serving his state bar association, including as its president, and he has worked to improve the lives of fellow citizens in his community.”

Kathy Law

Kathy Law, LW’04, received the Award of Merit from the Young Lawyers Division (YLD) of the Bar for the many hours she has devoted to the ISBA, including serving on the annual meeting committee. Matt McDermott, last year’s award recipient, cited Kathy’s many contributions to the legal profession, to The Iowa State Bar Association, and to the community. During her acceptance, Kathy thanked the Young Lawyers Division and the ISBA for welcoming her into the organization, the attorneys and staff at Nyemaster for supporting her bar and civic activities, her administrative assistants and friends for supporting her in both work and life, and especially her family for encouraging and inspiring her to pursue a legal career.

The Young Lawyers Division Award of Merit is presented annually to an ISBA member who has shown leadership and has provided exemplary service to the bar. Law is currently an attorney at Nyemaster Goode PC.

Amos Hill

Amos Hill, GR’09, LW’09, was inducted as President of the Young Lawyers Division. He will serve as president of the approximately 1,600 YLD members in the state until next June. Hill, (a former Student Bar Association President) is an attorney at Whitfield & Eddy P.L.C.

In addition to the YLD honor, Hill is a newly-appointed member of the 2014-2015 American Bar Association Young Lawyers Division Affiliate Team, a select 7-person nationwide group that will design and implement bar leadership programming at regional and national conferences, and provide consultation for state and regional ABA YLD affiliate entities. The ABA Young Lawyer Division has over 300 young lawyer organizations around the world as member affiliates.

Outgoing dean Allan Vestal was awarded the President’s Award from the Iowa State Bar Association (ISBA). The award is a tribute to an individual who has gone above and beyond in assisting the ISBA.

Read more about Vestal’s award.