Home College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences Drake Alumni, Faculty, Staff and Students Receive Awards at the Iowa Pharmacy Association’s Annual Meeting

Drake Alumni, Faculty, Staff and Students Receive Awards at the Iowa Pharmacy Association’s Annual Meeting

Des Moines (June 26, 2013) IPA pays special tribute to pharmacists, technicians and pharmacy students who display professional practice and service to the Iowa public. The Iowa Pharmacy Association (IPA) is pleased to announce the following 2013 recipients of the Iowa Pharmacy Association Awards that were presented during the Association’s 2013 Annual Banquet on June 22 in Coralville, IA.

Robert G. Gibbs Distinguished Pharmacist Award – Raylene Rospond, Deputy Provost
The Robert G. Gibbs Distinguished Pharmacist Award is presented to a pharmacist in recognition of outstanding contributions to the profession of pharmacy and the Iowa Pharmacy Association.  The recipient receives a recognition plaque and their name is included on a master plaque at the IPA headquarters.

IPA Honorary President – Linda Krypel, PH’75
IPA’s “Honorary President” is selected on an annual basis to recognize a lengthy and sustained commitment of support for the Iowa Pharmacy Association and the profession of pharmacy in Iowa. The “Honorary President” is selected by the IPA House of Delegates and serves as a voting member of the IPA Board of Trustees for one year before receiving this special recognition at the Annual Banquet.

IPA Appreciation Award – Epilepsy Task Force: Brett Barker, PharmD, Chasity Mease, PH’05 and Geoff Wall, Professor
The Iowa Pharmacy Association Appreciation Award was created in 1988 to recognize individuals and organizations for their support of organized pharmacy in the state of Iowa.

GenerationRx Award- Jennifer Seyfer, PH’79
The GenerationRx Award is a national awards program sponsored by Cardinal Health. This award is designed to recognize a pharmacist who has demonstrated excellence in community-based prescription drug abuse prevention. The award is intended to recognize outstanding efforts within the pharmacy community to raise awareness of this serious public health problem. It is also intended to encourage educational prevention efforts aimed at patients, youth, and other members of the community. This award includes a $500 donation to the charity of the recipient’s choice.

Karbeling Leadership Award – Natalie Schmitz, PH’14, MPA Candidate
The Karbeling Leadership Award was developed in tribute to the late Jerry Karbeling for his tireless leadership and dedication to the profession and especially to his passion for student involvement in professional associations as well as the political process. The Karbeling Leadership Award recognizes a student from each of Iowa’s two colleges of pharmacy for their individual leadership and involvement in professional organizations and the political process.

50-Year Pharmacists Award
Since 1971, IPA has paid special tribute to pharmacists who have achieved the milestone of 50 years of professional practice and service to the Iowa public. In recognition of their dedication to the profession and their lengthy membership in the Iowa Pharmacy Association, IPA is proud to honor the following pharmacists with a special 50-year award.

Monte Baugher, PH’62 West Des Moines

Larry Hurst, PH’63, Runnells

Paul Twedt, PH’62, Ames