Home College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences APhA-APPM Announces 2012 Election Results

APhA-APPM Announces 2012 Election Results

News Photo

American Pharmacists Association (APhA) Academy of
Pharmacy Practice and Management (APhA-APPM) today announced the results of its
recent elections. The Academy elected Amy M. Lugo, PharmD, BCPS, BC-ADM, of
Keystone Heights, FL; Holly Hurley, PharmD, of Bristol, VA; and Carrie
Koenigsfeld, PharmD, of Johnston, IA, as 2013-2015 APhA-APPM Executive
Committee Members-at-Large, as well as Andrew Bzowyckyj, PharmD, BCPS, of
Gladstone, MO, as 2013-2015 New Practitioner Officer.


Lugo is a Clinical
Specialist at the Department of Defense Pharmacoeconomic Center at Fort Sam
Houston, TX, and Director of the managed care residency. She is board certified
in pharmacotherapy and advanced diabetes management. Lugo received a PharmD
from the University of Florida and completed a primary care residency in
Asheville, NC. She has worked in hospital and institutional settings as a
clinical specialist, clinical coordinator and director of a pharmacy practice
residency. She has served APhA as the New Practitioner Officer in the
Clinical/Pharmacotherapeutic Practice Section, Member-at-Large and Chair of the
APhA-APPM Hospital/Institutional Section, service on the APhA-APPM Awards and
Policy Committees, JAPhA reviewer,
and poster abstract and Foundation grant reviewer.


Hurley is an Assistant Professor
of Pharmacy Practice at the Appalachian College of Pharmacy (ACP). She earned a
PharmD and completed a community pharmacy practice residency at Virginia
Commonwealth University (VCU) School of Pharmacy. Hurley practices at Food City
Pharmacies, where she coordinates patient care services for Kentucky, Virginia,
and Tennessee. She is a pharmacist for Wal-Mart and an immunization trainer for
the Virginia Pharmacists Association. Hurley was honored with the Innovative
Pharmacy Practice Award from the Virginia Pharmacists Association Foundation.


Koenigsfeld is a Professor at Drake
University, where she also maintains a practice in outpatient internal
medicine. She received a PharmD degree from the University of Iowa. She is the
Vice Speaker of the House for Iowa Pharmacy Association (IPA), serving as
Speaker in 2012 and 2013. She has served APhA as national faculty for the APhA
Immunization and Lipid Certificate Programs, Editorial Advisory Board for Pharmacy Today, reviewer for JAPhA, co-advisor for the Drake APhA–ASP
chapter, and awarded APhA Fellow in 2011. She was honored with the Drake
Faculty Preceptor of the Year and IPA’s Distinguished Young Pharmacist of the


Bzowyckyj is a Clinical Assistant
Professor at the University of Missouri-Kansas City and is developing a
clinical practice site in the Diabetes Center at Truman Medical
Centers-Hospital Hill campus in Kansas City, MO. He received a PharmD from the
University of Connecticut School of Pharmacy. He then went on to complete the two-year
Pharmaceutical Care Leadership Residency offered by the University of Minnesota
College of Pharmacy in Minneapolis. His residency experiences focused on
ambulatory care practice, academia, practice site development, legislative
advocacy, policy development, and general philosophies regarding leading
change. .



The APhA Academy of
Pharmacy Practice and Management (APhA-APPM) is dedicated to assisting members
in enhancing the profession of pharmacy, improving medication use and advancing
patient care. APhA serves pharmacists in all practice settings, including
independent and chain community pharmacies, hospitals, long-term care
facilities, clinics, health maintenance organizations, federal facilities, nuclear
pharmacies and other specialized settings. Members receive access to continuing
education, an online community of practitioners, networking and leadership
opportunities, tools and resources for developing patient care services,
cutting edge information on Medication Therapy Management and regulatory issues
facing the profession.