Home School of Journalism and Mass Communication T-D named Iowa College Paper of the Year

T-D named Iowa College Paper of the Year

The Times-Delphic won 15 awards Thursday, including Iowa College Newspaper of the Year, in the annual Iowa College Media Association student newspaper contest.

The Times-Delphic also won first place for general excellence. Senior Ann Schnoebelen won three first-place writing awards. The awards covered work published in 2010-11, under Editor Lizzie Pine.

The judges praised the Times-Delphic as a “quality newspaper from front to back.”

First-place awards

  • General Excellence
  • Best profile (Ann Schnoebelen)
  • Best explanatory/interpretive news story (Ann Schnoebelen)
  • Best news story (Ann Schnoebelen)
  • Best feature story (Becca Mataloni)
  • Best page one (Lizzie Pine)
  • Best op-ed section

Second-place awards

  • Best profile (Jackie Wallentin)
  • Best news story (Ryan Price)
  • Best sports story (Dominic Johnson)
  • Best inside-page design (Mary Bess Bolling)

Third-place awards

  • Best profile (Lizzie Pine)
  • Best sports story (Matt Moran)
  • Best sports photograph (Connor McCourtney)

The awards were handed out Thursday night at the downtown Des Moines Marriott.


This page won first place for front-page design. Ann Schnoebelen also won first place for the article “Out of Egypt.”
The T-D won first place for best op-ed section for this section in the Relays edition.