Home Alumni Faculty and staff honored at Drake’s fall Convocation

Faculty and staff honored at Drake’s fall Convocation

Fornoff, Hogan, Moenkhaus recognized for their service

Three members of the Drake University faculty and staff were presented with Madelyn M. Levitt Awards on Tuesday, September 13, at the annual Faculty and Staff Convocation in Sheslow Auditorium in Old Main. The awards were established by the late Madelyn M. Levitt, who served as a Drake trustee and special assistant to the president for development.

Anisa Fornoff

Anisa Fornoff, assistant professor of pharmacy practice, was honored with the Madelyn M. Levitt Distinguished Community Service Award.

The award recognizes a faculty or staff member with a demonstrated personal commitment to volunteerism and community service as well as professional and personal values and behavior that typify the ideals of giving back to others.

Fornoff is actively involved with service organizations dedicated to adults with mental and physical disabilities, including Passageway and Candeo, which offer individuals with disabilities opportunities, services and support.

Her professional work includes pharmaceutical care services and experiential student learning at various community sites dedicated to support services for adults with mental and physical disabilities. She has made that work personal by engaging students and speaking passionately beyond the classroom. Last year, Dr. Fornoff developed a new First Year Seminar focused on the media’s treatment of people with disabilities. She provides students a service-learning opportunity by creating an experience at Ruby Van Meters Schools.

Her inspirational leadership is captured in this comment from one of her advanced pharmacy practice experience students:

“[Fornoff] is an amazing model for empathy and understanding, and her positive and encouraging attitude exemplifies what is to be desired from all health care professionals.”

The 2011 Madelyn M. Levitt Employee Excellence Awards, which honor staff members whose work and commitment consistently exceed expectations, were presented to:

•    Jen Hogan, assistant director of international programs and services and study abroad
•    Kevin Moenkhaus, assistant director of student records and academic information

Jen Hogan

Hogan demonstrates a commitment to Drake’s study abroad programming and exemplifies the global citizenship contemplated by the Drake mission.

Hogan’s nominator noted that Drake’s study abroad offerings are more robust and diverse because of her vision for expanding beyond what might be typical or expected. When natural disasters or political upheaval made the headlines last spring, Hogan worked tirelessly to communicate, coordinate and support impacted Drake students.

Moenkhaus works collaboratively across departmental lines, thinking beyond himself and his department.

Whether it is responding to a Sunday night scheduling emergency or finding an elegant way to navigate a complex enrollment process, Moenkhaus’ nomination included several examples of his willingness to go “above and beyond” to ensure others are able to fulfill their roles within the University.

“In all of these areas of excellence, the fact that Kevin does his job superbly makes it easier for me to do my job well, and I think that is the highest complement one can pay to a colleague,” his nominator said.