News Photo
Nancy Sebring, Judith Cunningham and Scott Raecker

Three outstanding educators will be honored during the Believers and Achievers Banquet, the Drake University School of Education’s annual Alumni Awards and Senior Recognition Dinner, on Tuesday, Feb. 24. 

The event will also honor members of the school’s graduating class of 2009. The students will be recognized and Rhodes Scholar and former basketball standout Lindsey Whorton, a 2008 Drake graduate, will speak on their behalf.

The event, which is open to the public, will begin with a reception at 6 p.m. in Parents Hall in Olmsted Center, 2875 University Ave., dinner at 6:30 p.m. followed by remarks by School of Education Dean Jan McMahill and awards presentations at 7 p.m.

One of the honorees is a state legislator and two are current or former administrators with the Des Moines Public Schools.
  • Nancy Sebring, superintendent of the Des Moines Public Schools. A resident of Des Moines, Sebring received her master’s, specialist and doctorate degrees in education from Drake.
  • Judith Cunningham, who retired in 2008 as executive director of K-12 Regional Programs for Des Moines Public Schools. She had worked for the school district for 40 years. A resident of Estes Park, Colo., Cunningham received her master’s degree in education from Drake.
  • Scott Raecker, state legislator and executive director of the Institute for Character Development at Drake University. Raecker is a resident of Urbandale, Iowa.
Tickets are $25, and can be reserved by contacting Tracy Bainter at 515-271-2183 or tracy.bainter@drake.edu. Reservations are requested by Feb. 16.