Home Alumni Drake to honor three outstanding educators

Drake to honor three outstanding educators

Three outstanding educators will be honored Thursday, Feb. 16, by the Drake University School of Education at the school’s Annual Alumni Awards Dinner in Parents Hall at Olmsted Center.

The evening is dedicated to the memory of Marie Hasch, a 1946 graduate of the School of Education. Hasch and her sister Helen Schott, a 1942 graduate of the School of Education, have been generous benefactors of the school.

Awards will be presented to:

  • Celeste Bremer, a United States magistrate judge. A resident of Urbandale, Bremer earned her doctoral degree from Drake in 2002.

  • Davis Eidahl, principal of Evans Middle School in Ottumwa and a recipient of a Milken Educator Award. Eidahl, a resident of Ottumwa, earned his master’s degree from Drake in 1999 and his specialist’s degree from Drake in 2002.

  • Thomas F. Snargrass, a Head Start and youth specialist at the Region 7 Head Start Office in Kansas City, Mo. Snargrass was responsible for all Iowa Head Start programs before retiring in January. He will receive a Lifetime Achievement Award for his work. He is a resident of Kansas City, Mo., and holds a bachelor’s degree from Lincoln University and attended the University of Missouri School of Social Work.

In addition to the awards presentation, the dinner will feature a keynote address by Sara Grant, artist and co-founder of Sticks Inc. Grant will discuss “Who are the ‘They’ that Say Art is Dead: How to Retain, Restore and Renew the Arts in Educational Settings.”

The event will begin with a reception at 5:30 p.m. followed by dinner at 6:30 p.m. The cost is $25 per person. Reservations may be made by contacting Tracy Bainter x2183 or tracy.bainter@drake.edu.