Home  »  Newsroom  »  Drake News  »  Law School News

Law School News

Drake Law School launches new Institute for Justice Reform and Innovation

Drake Law School has established a new Institute for Justice Reform and Innovation. Directed by Judge Mark Bennett, the institute will serve as a center for research and training on implicit bias, sentencing reform, and improving trial procedures.
July 20, 2018

In remembrance of former Drake University President and Iowa Governor, Robert D. Ray

The following message was sent to campus by Drake University President Marty Martin on July 8, 2018: With a heavy heart, I am writing to share that our cherished friend, distinguished alumnus, and former colleague, Robert D. Ray, died this morning. Governor Ray proudly served as Iowa’s 38th governor and, later in his career, as […]
July 8, 2018

Professor Hamilton receives Cuban Agrarian Law Society award

Professor Neil Hamilton, director of the Drake Agricultural Law Center, was honored by the Cuban Agrarian Law Society at the 11th International Congress on Agrarian Law in Havana, Cuba.
July 5, 2018

Art project honoring National Bar Association to be dedicated July 12

The Greater Des Moines Public Art Foundation is hosting a ceremony and public lecture to dedicate an art project that honors the legacy of the National Bar Association's founders, including 1922 Drake Law alumnus Charles Preston Howard.
June 27, 2018

2L Ashle Bray named Student Fellow for Rural Summer Legal Corps

Ashle Bray was one of 30 law students nationwide selected as a Student Fellow for the Rural Summer Legal Corp. As part of the program, she will provide legal assistance to low-income, rural Iowans.
June 13, 2018

Gabe Walsh represents 24 clients during 3L year

While Gabe Walsh was in his third year at Drake Law School, he was also gaining real-world legal experience. In fact, he represented a total of 24 clients though the Drake Legal Clinic.
May 29, 2018

Drake Law School places third in first-ever ABA Competitions Championship

Drake Law School placed third in the nationwide ABA Competitions Championship, which awarded team achievements and participation in the ABA Law Student Division’s four practical skills competitions.
May 23, 2018

Drake Law School celebrates Spring 2018 Commencement

Drake Law School held its Spring 2018 Commencement Ceremony on Saturday, May 19, in the Knapp Center.
May 22, 2018

Drake 1L Jacqueline Garcia is on the fast track to a future in social justice

Jacqueline Garcia is celebrating two milestones this month: She’ll receive her bachelor’s degree from Iowa State University and wrap up her first year of law school at Drake University.
May 2, 2018

Remembering Howard P. Drew: Drake Law alumnus and ‘World’s Fastest Human’

In honor of Drake Relays, Drake Law School is commemorating alumnus Howard P. Drew—an Olympic athlete, World War I veteran, and ground-breaking African-American judge.
April 27, 2018

Drake Law 2L finds calling in civil and human rights

New York-native Jasmine Meikle fuels her passion to help others in her internship with the Des Moines Civil and Human Rights Commission.
April 24, 2018

Former Supreme Court Competition winner Lori Bullock, LW'14, returns to argue before Iowa Supreme Court as attorney

When Lori Bullock was a third-year Drake Law student, she presented oral arguments to the Iowa Supreme Court during the Law School’s Supreme Court Competition. Four years later, she returned to campus to argue before the Iowa Supreme Court as an attorney.
April 20, 2018

Professor Schor takes unexpected path to constitutional law

After immigrating to the U.S. from Argentina as a child, Miguel Schor researched Latin American constitutions as part of his graduate studies. That work led him to constitutional law and comparative constitutionalism; today, he teaches at Drake Law School and recently published a book on the topic.
April 20, 2018

Q&A with Student Bar Association President Jackson O'Brien

Meet Jackson O’Brien, the 2018-19 president of the Drake Law School Student Bar Association (SBA).
April 11, 2018

Two former journalists pursue law degrees at Drake

Drake Law students come from a variety of backgrounds. Two first-year students—Joel Aschbrenner and Grant Rodgers—are former reporters for the Des Moines Register.
April 9, 2018