Home  »  Newsroom  »  Drake News  »  Article

Doctor of Pharmacy Hooding and Commencement

May 19, 2010
Congratulations to the 103 Drake graduates who participated in the Doctor of Pharmacy Hooding and Commencement exercises on May 15 - May 16.  On Saturday, May 15 each student was introduced with their plans following graduation, received their doctoral hood, took the Oath of a Pharmacist led by alumnus Patty Kumbera, and were welcomed to the profession by IPA CEO Tom Temple.  Special awards during the ceremony included the announcement of the WalMart - Pharmacy Times RESPY award to Stephanie Swain and the Jerry Karbeling Leadership Award to Carter Birkel. Other awards announced were as follows:

  • Excellence in Clinical Communication Skills - Facts & Comparisons:  Elizabeth O'Brien
  • Outstanding Student Award - TEVA-Excels in the study of pharmacy:  Shelby Guenveur
  • APhA Recognition Certificate - Outstanding service to the American Pharmacists Association:  Stephanie Swain
  • Excellence in Pharmacy - Mylan-Drug Info Facts:  Heidi Treml
  • Outstanding Community Practice Pharmacy Graduate - Russ Johnson, Jr. :  Kelly Zieman Arthur
  • Excellence in Diabetes Disease Management - Eli Lilly & Co. Achievement in Diabetes Award:  Ross Narloch
  • Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database Recognition Award - Pharmacists Letter:  Jennifer Lose
  • History of Pharmacy Recognition - American Institute of the History of Pharmacy/Certificate:  Annelise Nelson
  • Scholastic Achievement in Pharmacy Studies - Merck-Merck Manual and Merck Index:  Davina Koons, Kristen Zorich, Sarah Hanigan

On Sunday, May 16, the Doctor of Pharmacy graduates participated in the University Graduate Commencement Exercises. Welcome to our new Drake pharmacy alumni!