Newsroom

Home  »  Newsroom  »  Drake News  »  Article

ALUMNI NEWS

May 7, 2007

Class of 1957, 50 Year Club celebrate at Commencement

The classes of 1957, 1947 and 1937 will celebrate milestone reunions during Drake’s Commencement Weekend, May 10-12. Numerous events are scheduled, from tours of campus and Des Moines to induction of the Class of 1957 in the 50 Year Club on Friday evening, May 11, at the Des Moines Club. Class members also will be invited to don gold robes and walk through the commencement ceremony on Saturday, May 12, and enjoy the celebratory Annual Alumni Awards Dinner that evening. For more information, contact Barb Dietrich Boose, director of alumni and parent programs, at 515-271-3077 or barbara.boose@drake.edu.

Bulldog Bashes coming up in London, Chicago and more

It’s Bulldog Bash season! Bashes in the month ahead include:

• London: Saturday, May 12, 3 p.m., Café 2, located on the west end of the Tate Modern building on Level 2 overlooking the riverside. Contact Katie Ditton, JO'04, katiedianne@mindspring.com; Robin Hamman, ED'95, robin.hamman@bbc.co.uk; Zach Nunn, AS'02, zachnunn@hotmail.com; Adam Park, AS'91, acpark@comcast.net; Atle Willems, BN'95, aw@freedomrecruit.com.

• San Francisco: Tuesday, May 15, 7 p.m., Landmark Opera Plaza Theatres, 601 Van Ness (Van Ness and Golden Gate). Enjoy a private viewing of a new release followed by drinks and discussion with film critic Terry Brejla, JO'69; cost $15. Or feel free to join the group just for drinks at Max’s Restaurant, 601 Van Ness, around 8:30 p.m. Contact Terry Brejla, 415-591-4034, Terry.Brejla@bm.com.

• Stamford, Conn.: Thursday, May 24, 5:30 p.m., The Players Club located in Sterling Farms Golf Club, 1349 Newfield Ave. Beer keg provided by host John Mayberry, JO'72, 203-359-5683, westbay@fastmail.us.

• Chicago: Thursday, May 31, 7 p.m., Mad River, 2909 N. Sheffield Ave. Contact Jen Abel, AS'03, 773-991-2569, jennifer.abel@cna.com; Katie Meier, JO'03, katrinameier@hotmail.com.

• Des Moines: Saturday, June 2, 4:30-6:30 p.m., Wellman’s Pub patio, 2920 Ingersoll Ave. Contact Steffini Eisenbeis, AS'93, GR'01, 515-235-9187; Amanda Rinehart, JO'02, arinehart@flynnwright.com; Susan Stocum, JO'92, stocum.susan@principal.com.

• Austin, Texas: Sunday, June 3, 2 p.m., Opal Divine’s, 3601 S. Congress. Happy hour specials all day. Contact Kara Winebright, AS'99, 512-659-4326, kara.winebright@hotmail.com; Tamara Harswick, AS'99, tamarah@hotmail.com.

Bulldog Bashes will be held in other cities through June. For the full list, visit www.drake.edu/alumni and click on "Bulldog Bashes."